G-Data Newest Product Version

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Securon, Jan 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Maybe you can try with the help tab :)
    (if you have the software installed)
     
  2. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I'm just window shopping at this point. No pun intended.
     
  3. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I believe G Data's calling it "Silent Firewall" references its "Autopilot" mode, which means it makes its own decisions without user input.
     
  4. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Sounds like the type of firewall that would suit me.
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I use Windows Live Mail. I doubt the antispam and mail scanning components work with this. The Av alone might suit me better.
     
  6. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I don't use Windows Live mail, so couldn't tell you either way...but they do work on Thunderbird, so it's entirely possible WLM would be covered too.
     
  7. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    You guys are getting my curiosity up...I may give this Internet Security a try. My KIS 2011 expires soon and I like some of the test results of G-Data I have seen on AV and others.
     
  8. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Give it a whirl, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised...
     
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
  10. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,383
    Location:
    Hawaii
    If I trial & like a security program, I will gladly pay for a license.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Does G-data have a behavior blocker? If not, is one on the horizon?

    Does G-data require a reboot during install?
     
  11. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    G-Data does have a BB. :D

    If i remember correctly, i think it doesn't needs a restart o_O
     
  12. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Yes and yes.

    You will have to take an image, Bill; although the uninstall is okay.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 15, 2011
  13. worried8

    worried8 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Hello guys please help me, i just paid for 3 licenses from an online store listed on the Gdata website.

    I have read through all of these pages and the rep says to register with the server, but all i get is a blank popup when i try this, ive tried all 3 different computers running windows 7.

    See attached screen shot

    Please help and tell me i didnt waste my money on a product i cant even register.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Hi, no need to worry (hopefully).

    Go to main Window>Updates>Options>Register with Server.

    You should then see a new Window to input your license key.

    Gdata will then email you a user name/password.

    However, the above would only work for me if during the install procedure I selected the "full version" and not the trial.

    Overall, they could make the updating easier for new users.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 15, 2011
  15. worried8

    worried8 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Ive just uninstalled, rebooted, run the AV cleaner, rebooted, installed the full version and its the same thing.

    I am using Internet Security 2011

    When i hit the Register with Server button, the popup is blank, there is no options like you see.
     
  16. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Sorry things did not pan out for you. I am using the standalone AV.

    So unless another member has any ideas, probably best now to contact their support directly.

    Similar problem with the IS Suite 2011 reported here .

    Overall, they need to improve the whole updating procedure, IMO, if they want to increase their number of users.
     
  17. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I agree with Blackcat. Contact their customer service, or if you're in the U.S. drop an email to Ed Johnson, which he listed in an earlier post.
    I'm still running the trial version of InternetSecurity, if I hit the "Register with Server" button, the popup asks if I want to enter a purchased registration number.
     
  18. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
  19. G Data Ed

    G Data Ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    Durham, North Carolina
    You can reach out to me. My email is in a previous post. I also receive EVERY Customer Support Inquiry filled out on our website, so I will get it there as well. If you indicate that you are a Wilders member, I will personally make sure that your issue is quickly resolved.
     
  20. mhl6493

    mhl6493 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Wow, can't beat that for customer service. Ed, you're really making me want to give G-Data 2011 a try... :)
     
  21. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    then you should. ;)
     
  22. Gauchoo

    Gauchoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    Scotland
    The first Gdata internet security 2012 public beta is available. It's only in German at the moment with an English version coming shortly, they say.

    Please note that this is a beta version that could also cause some problems.

    The new features of the Beta 2012 short overview:


    • Extended protection through improved behavior blockers
    • Comfortable work: The On-Demand scan in the background when the user is not active
    • New Add-in for Outlook 2007/2010 New Add-in for Outlook 2007/2010
    • Optimizing the Customer Experience
    • Performance Optimization Web Protection
    • Optimize performance monitor switch
    • Shredder even with 64-bit system
    • Improved self-protection

    If you want to try it, when at the activation window select the second option and enter BetaTest29848 as the username and T0BSBS as the password.

    http://qsmirror01.gdatasecurity.de/qs/BETA/2012/GER/GER_R_BETA_2012_IS.exe

    A few screenies :

    http://img684.imageshack.us/img684/5710/gdata1.jpg

    http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/158/gdata2.jpg

    http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/4821/gdata3.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
  23. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    Just wonder why Gdata called it version 2012, as it is just the beginning of 2011, unless they intend to test it for a year and release it at the end of 2011.
     
  24. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    804
    They released 2011 in Q1 of 2010, so 2012 will probably be the same.
    It's trendy to release versions from the future... today :doubt:
     
  25. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    This is indeed very early. Normally Kaspersky and Norton will come with a 2012 beta in May or something. I like normal version numbers more, like avast and ESET and some more. However G Data gives you the right to always use the latest version of the program, where in contrary some companies only let's you use the version you actually bought.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.