G Data AntiVirus 2013

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Macstorm, Oct 9, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Gave it another try since last June link when it was released, but performance issues with my laptop did prevent me from continuing the tryout process on my two pc's.

    I noticed now that they had upgraded their 2013 products to version 23.0.5.9 from the initial v.23.0.019 (I ignore how many builds were released since that time).

    And I frankly don't know what changes they did to their products but, specifically referring to AntiVirus, I definitely feel my laptop (2gb dual-core) much more responsive now than months ago. Everything runs just much faster.

    I like its "idle scan" feature and the included BankGuard browser plugin which btw works only with IE and Firefox (I use the speedy Iron but gonna swap to IE everytime I do online banking).

    So I bought a one-year license right away and I can do nothing but recommend it to everyone now.

    It's a two-engined tank, mate! (doesn't weight like one though) :thumb:
     
  2. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,438
    Germans have a reputation for building world-class, high quality products.

    Good to know Gdata is improving their software!
     
  3. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Glad to hear about the continued improvements..:thumb: I'll definitely be giving this another look when the time comes to make an av change.
     
  4. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    it is not light . Though web is nicely and browsing is fast .
     
  5. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    I use G-Data 2013 now, AVG was good until I had to contact support about a bug that broke laptop internet connections. Which then they ignored me and insulted my intelligence, and then claimed they could not help me because the AVG team was having a 2 day party and my problem was not important enough. G-Data is good though, x2 really good engines and this version is light enough not to effect gaming performance in any way. I like it so far.
     
  6. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I last used the 2012 version, from what I can see in the latest screenshots, the gui looks exactly the same. I always liked it, but am surprised it's been this way as long as it has.
     
  7. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    well as i may agree with you on the part about german engineering.But this is not strictly a german product..Czech and romanian would be more accurate but it looks a nice program anyway.:thumb:
     
  8. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    just tested it again and while i can honestly say its far lighter then 2012 seemed for me its still way to heavy for my liking. everything is pretty smooth except web browsing is slowed WAY down and unzipping of files seems to be very very slow now. other than that and the shear size of it overall.. almost 1gb in size its not bad for a dual engine product with normally stellar results in tests. i have a few lics left for it that are still good i may run it on a system and see if maybe it settles in a bit.
     
  9. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Remember to update the program itself after the installation and reboot.

    There will appear a notification at bottom of GUI as a reminder.

    Verify that the updated version is 23.0.5.9 (17-Sep-12).
     
  10. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
  11. silverfox99

    silverfox99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    204
    Just installed GData IS 2013, updated it, rebooted and all running very smoothly and no noticable slowdown on web browsing, running on a laptop with 2Meg RAM so very impressed so far.
     
  12. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Great :thumb:

    Make sure that you're running the latest v23.0.5.9 (main gui - more tab - info)
    .
     
  13. silverfox99

    silverfox99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    204
    Thanks yes i am running v23.0.5.9

    With BankGuard is there an icon or anything to indicate when it is active? I was logging onto my bank today (https: IE9)and nothing to indicate BankGuard was active? Do i have to manually add which sites i want BankGuard to protect or does it just run silently?
     
  14. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    The BankGuard feature is a browser plugin that works directly within IE and Firefox.

    You just have to verify if it's enabled on your IE add-ons and extensions. There's no other indication than this, it works automatically by sandboxing (so to speak) the browser.

    I'm glad that G Data has included this exceptional security feature within all their products, AntiVirus, Internet Security and Total Care :thumb:

    BankGuard is also available as a standalone product, more info:

    http://www.gdatasoftware.co.uk/onli...op/23-private-user/1790-g-data-bankguard.html
    http://www.gdatasoftware.co.uk/file...tail/2013/EN/GDRBG2012_EN_Factsheet_70984.pdf
     
  15. Sher

    Sher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    Pakistan
    I will test it soon.
     
  16. muf

    muf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    926
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Just tried it. Uninstalled KAV Pure first. Install went fine but much too slow loading each internet page. Doesn't appear to play well on my pc. I like to try things :D

    Nothing ventured, nothing gained...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.