G DATA AntiVirus 2008

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by rayoflight, Oct 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rayoflight

    rayoflight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    180
    Anybody tried it?It use BitDefender and Avast again?
    http://www.gdata.de/trade/GB/productview/819/16
     
  2. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
    Seems that only the 2007 version is available for 30 day trial.
     
  3. ink

    ink Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    185
  4. btman

    btman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    576

    Wait what?

    AVK uses Kaspersky and Avast I had thought.
     
  5. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    I tried it once.
    It is a great security piece but it slows down your PC heavily
     
  6. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.

    Didn't G Data offer a single engine av in the past?Maybe that's what this is.
    There isn't much info on that link.
    The dual engine was Kaspersky and Avast last I read anything about it.
     
  7. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    it IS kaspersky and avast.

    bitdefender was dropped for the 2007 version, and replaced with avast.

    if 2008 is the same, it will still be kaspersky and avast.

    --------
    i tried 2008, (auf Deutsch) and it was just like 2007 for me. :shifty:
     
  8. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    You may be thinking of the eXtendia AV.

    They did have a Kaspersky single-engine version but now it is powered by Norman.
     
  9. ink

    ink Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    185
    sorry, typing mistake, of course kaspersky. But I think F-secure maybe a better choice if you want the mutiple engine and it offer kind of HIPS and sanbox from norman
     
  10. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    I have tested G-Data IS2008, as I did with 2007. The 2008 version is slowing down the PC in the same manner 2007 did. It's such a shame because the rest of the program is quite good, to say the least. But it seems that their engineers can't get the beast running more lightly.
     
  11. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    That's the one I was thinking of Blackcat.
     
  12. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Actually GDATA did use to directly sell a single engine AVK using the KAV engine called GDATA AVK SE a very long time ago (before version 11 was released). It was this version that was eventually modified into eScan and lives on as one part of eScan today ;)
     
  13. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    G DATA AntiVirus 2008 (formerly AntiVirusKit) uses both kaspersky & avast engines, exactly like current 2007 version.
    I haven't tried v.2008 because the english version is not available as an upgrade yet :mad: I asked to support team for a direct download link (waiting for reply) since this 2008 english version is ready only for new customers now o_O
    I really expect this 2008 to run equal or better than great current 2007 :thumb:
    .
     
  14. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    It's equal, so slow, even on a PC with three gigs of RAM, dual core porcessor and 2.80 GHz.
     
  15. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    So, different configurations make the difference then.

    I'm on the same dual core 3.0GHz with 1.5 ram and AVK 2007 runs like feather here :)
    .
     
  16. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    Oh. it might run like a feather. Until you are starting to use your PC... I am really shocked by the way GData is doing the job. Their software can bring the latest machines to a crawl on the internet, on defraging or whatever else a PC and it's owner needs.
     
  17. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Again, I think it all depends on how your software environment is 'structured'. If this great software doesn't work for you ok, I won't argue it with you. I agree with others that previous versions of avk (2006 and older) were a nightmare in terms of performance, nevertheless I think this v.2007 was a huge improvement compared to them. I guess the inclusion of the avast engine replacing the bitdefender one was the major change that did the trick.

    Can't wait for the 2008 version :)
    .
     
  18. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    I am speaking about the 2008 version...
     
  19. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Idem. And I'm talking about standalone AV only, not the suite.
    I hope 2008 won't dissapoint me :D
    .
     
  20. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Anyone know thw upgrade policy? Does a license owner of AVK 2007 get a free upgrade to 2008?
     
  21. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    When I had Gdata in 2004/5 it was a simple submittal of your key, then they generate a new one and whell-ah. I hope for you it is still true it is a good deal.
    The only problem is this took about a week because of the non-German speaking support! :(
     
  22. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum

    Thanks for the info likuidkewl.
     
  23. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Yes, as long as you have a valid subscription you are entitled to upgrade to the latest version for free using your current credentials. Unfortunately, the english version of AV 2008 is not available yet :doubt: UpgradeService
    .
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.