G-Data 2003 still uses Avast?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Durad, Aug 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    Canada
    Does G-Data 2003 still uses Avast as a second engine or it replaces it after updating?
     
  2. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,937
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Durad...if it's G-Data 2013...it most assuredly had the Avast Engine...Sincerely...Securon
     
  3. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I believe they now use Bitdefender plus some in house engine. I'm assuming they are getting signatures from BD
     
  4. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    G-Data said they they were going to replace the Avast! engine but im not sure if it was going to be in the 2013 or 2014 version.
     
  5. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,937
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! I have a license for G-Data 2014...and they are using their own in house engine. Sincerely...Securon
     
  6. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,697
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    G-Data 2013=Bitdefender+avast
    G-Data 2014=Bitdefender+in house
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,102
  8. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    Canada
    I dont think anybody answered. I know they use different engines with 2014 version.

    My question is: does 2013 version still uses avast or it changes to the new engine once updated?

    Thanks :D
     
  9. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,937
    Location:
    London On
    Good Morning! Durad! It changes to the new version when updated! Sincerely...Securon
     
  10. Ford Prefect

    Ford Prefect Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Ruhrpott
    If you are running 2013 and do not perform a software update (to 2014), then you will stay with avast.
    The engine will not be changed by signature update.

    If you perform a software update/upgrade you will be moved to 2014 with BD and CloseGap.
     
  11. silverfox99

    silverfox99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    204
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.