Future Changes to ESS

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Blackspear, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. Sacles

    Sacles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Belgique
    Hello,

    The plugin is secondary.

    What is important is that ESET Smart Security check emails and the antispam can mark them as spam (if they are spam) before their enters in the email software.

    A software as SpamPal (and others) can do this work very well.
     
  2. BellaBoo

    BellaBoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    SydYork, US of Oz
    scan name popup bubble

    i've maintained the *relevant* default scans that ess provides, and designed myself one for a full system scan prior to backup.

    but when i log on or reboot from sleep or access an extermal application or whatever and one of those scans is triggered, i'd like to know which scan is in operation.

    i'd therefore like to see a popup bubble that provides the *name* [not just the standard 'a computer scan has started*] of the scan task being performed and for the scan log to reveal that *name* also.

    i'm a novice in the truest sense and to some users, identifying what scan is being, or has been performed at whatever time for whatever purpose, may be considered rudimentary, but for me [and likely others similar to me], this would greatly benefit my [our] overall understanding of how ess works for *us*.

    please give it consideration...

    thanks for your time :)
     
  3. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    Re: scan name popup bubbles

    Hello BellaBoo

    You are correct by saying that Eset doesn't inform you what scan is performed. The only thing you see is that a computer scan is performed.
    What you proposed is a very good suggestion.

    By default Eset will perform a scan when you connect a USB device ( stick, external hard disk) , CD-rom that is part of the automatic removable media scan.

    Also when you boot a quick scan is also performed, only certain locations are scanned the system folder (in that folder all executables are located that are always loaded at every boot), boot sectors,...

    Regards,
    Niels
     
  4. BellaBoo

    BellaBoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    SydYork, US of Oz
    Re: scan name popup bubbles

    thanks niels :)

    when i look at my scan log, i can see which drive has been scanned, but that's after the fact. what i'd like to see is when i'm performing a task that triggers a scan is a bubble informing me of the *name* of the scan so i can determine a relationship to what i'm doing and that the scan is not for some other reason.

    it's a comfort thing from the immediate position rather than an 'oh, was that what it was about?' perspective.
     
  5. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    Re: scan name popup bubbles

    Well said!
     
  6. Kasun

    Kasun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    22
    Hello friends what about this option for ESET ,
    After stop a smart scan at the middle of the scan process when you try to relaunch a smart scan some times later what about an option to ask resume the smart scan from exactly the position where you stop it at the last time.I think this is a real time saving option for full system scan.
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    It's already possible to pause and resume a scan.
     
  8. BellaBoo

    BellaBoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    SydYork, US of Oz
    Re: scan name popup bubbles

    y, tyvm :D

    i must add too that whomever was 'moderating' or 'fixing things' when i posted about this [separately :ouch:], i consider crafty and mystifying and very tolerant :)

    :thumb:
     
  9. Sacles

    Sacles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Belgique
    Hello,

    The Bat! ---> ESS Antispam does not work
    Windows Live Mail 2012 ---> ESS Antispam does not work
    Thunderbird 16 ---> ESS Antispam does not work
    Postbox ---> ESS Antispam does not work
    Becky ----> ESS Antispam does not work
    Pegasus ---> ESS Antispam does not work
    ...

    Do you think this situation is normal?
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    This KB article contains a list of compatible email clients.
     
  11. Sacles

    Sacles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Belgique
    Hello,

    Yes, I know that. What I meant is the antispam cannot correctly work with a lots of mailers.

    It is high time that antispam can work independent of the mailer used.

    It is not normal that a product claiming to have a antispam can only works with very little mailer software.

    Also, I hope that developers can improve this feature in future versions.
     
  12. Shantanu

    Shantanu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    India
    Windows 8 released .....

    any news about ESS 6 final release dateo_O?
     
  13. Sacles

    Sacles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Belgique
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2012
  14. maaster

    maaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    A built-in task manager integrated with the running processes that is now currently in tools option with options to end process...so suspected malware activity can be ended...Task manager is there but If we try to end a malware activity it will show as "access is denied"..so built in task manager might be good option!
     
  15. Shantanu

    Shantanu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    India
    :thumb:
    Good point....I'm agreed..anyone elseo_O
     
  16. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    Hello Sacles,

    Anti-spam does work in Windows Live Mail. But you have to right click on e-mails to be able to classify them as spam and add them to the black list. The only thing that is missing is the toolbar. Maybe it's also the case by the other mail clients, that you don't see the toolbar but when you right click on mails you will find the anti-spam in the context menu.

    Regards
    Niels
     
  17. Sacles

    Sacles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Belgique
    Hello,

    Windows Live Mail has its own antispam. What you see is not the antispam of Smart but the antispam of WLM.

    Take a look to the stats for the antispam in SMART. If you use WLM 2012 you will see that no mail is verified.
     
  18. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    I can confirm that in WLM 2011 the integration works, but WLM 2012 it doesn't. Hence the reason I reverted back to the 2011 build.
     
  19. maaster

    maaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    1)Change the colour of the alert windows for PUPs and HIPS....It looks same when they pop up...one has to look carefully at the top to differentiate them!

    2)When PUP notifications are alerted please add an option for "add to exclusion"..
     
  20. Stimulator

    Stimulator Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    1) A separate parameter setup for removable media scan.

    2) A capability of manually quarantined objects scan from quarantine window.

    3) A notification window that tells you that there is a quarantined false positive object that is no longer be detected after now. This window enable you to restore that object to its origin place.
     
  21. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    This is already on the wish list.

    I don't think this would be useful as re-scanning files in quarantine will not 100% confirm that the file was FP or undetected malware.

    This wouldn't be safe. If you suspect a file to be detected incorrectly as a threat, submit it to ESET for analysis. It is impossible to make conclusions about the harmlessness of files just by scanning them.
     
  22. Sacles

    Sacles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Belgique
    Hello Marcos,

    No recovery for antispam to expect in the future?
     
  23. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    1. Bring back ESS icon like the one used in v4 at the notification area
    2. Use green color instead of blue for ESS icon in the notification area to state that ESS is in maximum protection
    3. Animate ESS icon when updating virus signature database (suggestion : use a small moving down arrow sign)
    4. Use a small moving microscope sign in the ESS icon when performing a computer scan instead of using green circle icon with 2 moving arrows.
    5. Delete the word (example: "Home") above the "Maximum Protection" word whenever in the Home area in the ESS main menu.
    6. Add the version number next to the word ESS (example: Eset Smart Security 5) in the pop up notification.

    Thanks.
     
  24. Shantanu

    Shantanu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    India
    @encus

    For No. 2- Green colour is already allotted for EAV, so that's why blue is allotted for ESS to distinguish between these two product.


    For No. 3- Yes..I think that's a good idea to think about. After all there is no difference indication to understand whether it's scanning something or downloading updates.


    For No. 4 & 5- Considering this two also....

    @Marcos

    Mod....please thing over these & let the Dev know about these.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2012
  25. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    I still think Green is better (just like traffic light) and to use the same color for both ESS and EAV is practically ok (you can distinguish them by looking at the top text in their main menus).

    Thanks.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.