Full screen crashes with Java & or Flash in YouTube & Hulu. Is there a fix?

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by zapjb, Sep 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    [SOLVED] Full screen crashes with Java & or Flash in YouTube & Hulu.

    Full screen crashes with Java & or Flash in YouTube & Hulu.

    Is there a fix for this? I searched & not found one.


    Just posted this on PCLOS forum. Running latest PCLOS KDE fully updated.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2010
  2. katio

    katio Guest

    Did you try different browsers?
    Running the browser from terminal often gives usefull errors.
    Could be the graphic drivers, try another one (open/closed source).
     
  3. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Crashes in both Opera & FF when selecting full screen.

    Would you explain how to run browers in terminal?

    I have an ATI mobility radeon 2600HD. The drivers I believe I have (ati-driver-installer-10-7-x86.x86_64.run) was downloaded from ATI. I installed those from terminal from instructions found on Ubuntu forums.

    Installed in Synaptic by search term ATI are:

    dkms-fglrx (ATI proprietary kernel module
    ATI proprietary kernel module. This is to be used with the
    x11-driver-video-fglrx package. This package corresponds to ATI Catalyst version 10.9.)

    fglrx-control-center (AMD Catalyst Control Center Linux Edition
    AMD Catalyst Control Center Linux Edition, a graphical configuration
    utility for the ATI proprietary X.org driver. This package corresponds to ATI Catalyst version 10.9.)

    x11-driver-video-ati (X.org driver for ATI Technologies
    x11-driver-video-ati is the X.org driver for ATI Technologies.)

    x11-driver-video-fglrx (ATI proprietary X.org driver and libraries
    ATI proprietary X.org graphics driver, related libraries and
    configuration tools. NOTE: You should use XFdrake to configure your ATI card. The correct packages will be automatically installed and configured.
    If you do not want to use XFdrake, see README.manual-setup.)

    x11-driver-video-geode (X.org driver for AMD Geode GX and LX Processors
    This is the X graphics driver for the AMD Geode GX and LX processors.
    The GX driver features XAA and EXA support for graphics acceleration,
    and the LX driver supports EXA (including compositing). Both drivers
    suppport dynamic rotation with XRandR, and Xv overlay support.)

    x11-driver-video-mach64 (X.org driver for ATI Mach64
    x11-driver-video-mach64 is the X.org driver for ATI Mach64.)

    x11-driver-video-r128 (X.org driver for ATI Rage 128
    x11-driver-video-r128 is the X.org driver for ATI Rage 128.)

    x11-driver-video-radeonhd (X.org driver for AMD / ATI r5xx/r6xx chipsets
    x11-driver-video-radeonhd is the X.org driver for AMD / ATI r5xx/r6xx chipsets
    (Radeon X1xxx and HD 2xxx cards).)



    I don't know if I have too many drivers installed, the wrong one(s) or what.
     
  4. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    Maybe it is wholly an flash issue.

    In the flash display when there is a crash sometimes you will see a link appear, "report the crash".
    Have you clicked the link to report the crash?
     
  5. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,785
    Yeah, it could be flash... or the ATI drivers... or both. Why all the drivers?
     
  6. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I don't know why all the drivers. Which one should I uninstall?
     
  7. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    First did you just update the system?
    Second run the following to see which driver is loaded:
    Code:
    # cat /proc/modules
     
  8. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    PCLOS is fully updated. I used # cat /proc/modules in terminal (both user & root) & received no result.
     
  9. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    zapjb, Try this command.

    Code:
    # lsmod
     
  10. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I used # lsmod in terminal (both user & root) & received no result.
     
  11. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    Do not add the hash "#" to the command.
     
  12. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Ok. Both commands without the hash produce around 80 lines of results. Should I post both long logs or is there a line or two that we're looking for?
     
  13. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    First, you never told me if you just updated or added something to your system and this happened?
    or
    Did this happen all of a sudden?
     
  14. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Nope this has been happening for ~3 weeks.
     
  15. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    check your inbox.
     
  16. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Thanks to cgeek this worked.

    "ok. go to youtube and watch a video. right click on the video and select settings turn off Hardware acceleration. Then go to fullscreen and let me know what happened."





    Funny I'd tried this before & it didn't work. Whew glad thats over.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.