FULL OS back up software??

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by arran, Aug 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,139
    Does any one know of any windows FULL back up software which is Free, I'm not interested in any snap shot, say for example my current OS is 13 GB so 13 GB would be copied over to another partition.
     
  2. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Go check "imaging" over on thefreecountry - many you can then reference here.
     
  3. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,139
    well that doesn't help much. with out me having to download and install them all any one know of any which does a FULL image back up?

    I want to be able to run a backed up copy of windows without having to have the original windows copy running on the other Partition.
     
  4. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

  5. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    I'm confused. You already list an imaging program (Macrium Reflect) in your signature?

    If I'm reading this right, you want to be able to run the same Windows copy in 2 instances? I don't think that's allowed.
     
  6. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Unless English isn't your first language, just about any one of those would satisfy your request.

    Observant ~wink~ point there Han.
     
  7. ViVek

    ViVek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    551
    Location:
    Moon
    Macrium Reflect Free
    Website:
    http://www.macrium.com
    Download link:
    http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.asp
    Author: Macrium Software
    Current version: 4.2.2033
    File Size: 26MB
    License: Limited functionality freeware
    Operating Systems Supported: Windows XP and Vista
    64 bit capable: Yes
    Any special system requirements: An external USB disk is required - alternatively a DVD burner drive
    Portable version available: This product is self booting
    Additional software required : BartPE - a custom BartPE boot disk must be created, with additional Macrium files
     
  8. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
  9. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    I'm not sure what you mean.

    Do you want 'plain' imaging, or cloning ?

    I use Acronis version 8 (not free), and I use it to create an image of the entire harddisk on an external harddisk. In my case, I have only one partition. By default, the software compresses the image, and the size of the image is only a fraction of the contents of the harddrive.
     
  10. Mister_Al

    Mister_Al Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Posts:
    28
  11. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,139
    I have tried out a few but still no luck of what I want to achieve

    What I want to know is this.

    For example I have windows installed on hard drive A. I copy the entire contents from hard drive A onto hard drive B. I then attempt to boot windows up on hard drive B, and it will only boot up on hard drive B if hard drive A is also plugged in.

    Is It possible to boot up on hard drive B without Hard drive A plugged in??

    What back up copy software can do this??
     
  12. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,305
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Of course. This is exactly what everyone has been suggesting to you. Get the word "backup" out of your head. What you are looking for is "imaging" software. There have been some mentioned; Macrium Reflect, Drive Snapshot. There are other though, such as Paragon Drive Image, Image for Windows Clonezilla. Acronis True Image, etc. I use ShadowProtect. It works flawlessly for me.

    In the above scenario, copying will not work as it will not be complete. You need to restore a complete (full) image of Drive A to Drive B.
     
  13. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  14. Keyboard_Commando

    Keyboard_Commando Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Posts:
    690
  15. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    My only experience is with Acronis (not free).
    In my case, I have a bootable CD, created by the Acronis software.
    When I need to restore an image I insert the bootable CD, shut down the computer, connect the external harddrive to the computer, reboot and I can restore an image from the external harddrive. There are alternatives, for example USB sticks.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.