Full Backup & Restore Problem

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ct2005, Dec 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ct2005

ct2005 Registered Member

I am new to using ATI 10. I am trying out to see if a simple full backup, follow by a full restore will work or not. I am stuck.

Step 1 : I manage to do a full backup (whole harddisk with all partitions) together with full version of ATI 10 to DVD+R disc (total 2 discs). (although during the burning process, ATI 10 only recognize my drive as CD-RW drive, that is weird.)

Step 2: I boot my computer using the disc. Acronis successfully loaded and I choose ATI (Full version). Next, I choose "Recovery". However, on the left side of the screen, when I try to locate the backup file (*.tib) in the DVD-Drive, nothing was display for me to choose. When I click on all other local harddisk drives, the contents are displayed except the DVD drive.

I have tried to press F11, enter the command " quiet acpi=off noapic" but not useful. Anyone can enlighten me on this?

2. ct2005

ct2005 Registered Member

Anyone can help me with the above problem?

I cannot load the backup image file, thus I cannot test whether ATI 10 can actually do a full restore of my whole harddisk.

Any ideas?

3. bVolk

bVolk Registered Member

Hello ct2005,

TI not reporting the optical drive with the proper name is an old bug. It seems persisting in ver.10. But that doesn't make any difference as far as working is concerned.

About the contents not showing, try clicking on the Back button and then on Next to return to the same screen. The DVD inserted first should be the last one of the image set.

Anyway, starting the trial of any version of True Image (or any imaging software) by going straight to restore the system (?) drive, is a dangerous approach. More so if the image is stored on DVDs. If due to your setup the restore failed, you would end with an empty drive.