Full Backup creates multiple image files

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Gocuse, Oct 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gocuse

    Gocuse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Hello,

    I'm using Acronis 11.0. I recently backed up an office computer for the first time and noticed a difference with the full backup aka (MyComputer) option that has not occurred with other PC's I have backed up. The C drive is not partitioned, but the full backup created 4 separate image files labeled MyComputer1 - 4. Three of the files were exactly the same size and the 4th file a different size. The drive is 120GB with only 20GB being used, and this is a Windows XP box. Other PC's I have backed up only created 1 image file when doing the full backup for the first time, and there was considerably more data on these drives. So I'm a little concerned that something may not be right here.

    Is it normal for Acronis to generate multiple full backup image files on some PC's on not others?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Aussie42

    Aussie42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    64
    The options when you create an image may be set to split at a particular size, or the file system of your destination disk may not support files above a certain size and therefor TI would split the back up.
     
  3. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    The drive that has the split backup files is formatted as Fat 32 - this will support files sizes around 4Gb, no larger. The other drives that saved the backup as one file are NTFS.
     
  4. Gocuse

    Gocuse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Thank-you I believe you nailed it! The drive I'm backing this computer off to is a new external and I believe it came formatted with fat32 as the file system. I will reformat it to NTFS and that should let me create larger image files.
     
  5. Witty Moniker

    Witty Moniker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    New user here, so please bear with me. I just completed the initial full backup and also have 4 "full backup" files. When I set up a scheduled differential backup, do I just specify the first image file and will the program find the rest automatically?

    Thanks.
     
  6. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    You should also consider a secondary backup media for additional security - like dvd discs. Many users here do this using the 2-step method and specifying a split size of 1492mb. In this method, after the backup files are made, they are then burned to dvd media using your favorite burning software like Nero or Roxio. Three of the split backup files will fit nicely on one dvd disc with very little waste.
     
  7. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Witty I don't do differential so someone else will answer. But it is better to start a new thread - or check in the stickies at the top, most likely the answer is there.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup software

    Acronis True Image 11 Home will count all files in a splitted backup archive as one piece, so you should point at the first part of such archive then you're going to schedule differential backups.

    Thank you.

    --
    Michael Levchenko
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.