FSIS 2008

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by trjam, Aug 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    will be out September 3rd. Improved performance and some other cool stuff. So I finally found my Avira replacement. Contract negotiations were tough, but in the end, we hammered out a 2 year deal.;)
     
  2. cp4eva

    cp4eva Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    TX
    Anyone want to start a pool on when the avatar changes again? :p
     
  3. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    A certain predictability is required even for Vegas odds makers, but I don't think they would touch this one. ;)
     
  4. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Oh, and improved parental controls and improved antiphishing. Nope, contract states specifically that if my Avatar changes over the 2 year deal, then I have to undergo a sex change operation. Geez those Fins are tough, but 2008 is a great and STABLE product. Let me repeat,STABLE :cool: ;)
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Do you prefer a pump or a flat shoe?:D
     
  6. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    If you haven't noticed Symantec just released their new products , perhaps you can try them , too . And ... I am sorry I forgot to say they are IMPROVED , and STABLE . Let me repeat , STABLE . :D

    Viva 2008's new avatars :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  7. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Hey, Jeff. How did you back yourself into such a cornero_O?? :D :D

    I bet FSIS 2008 is great. Are you the only one who has it now?

    Have a good day. WHAT A GUY! Until he changes his Avatar!:D :D

    Best,
    Jerry
     
  8. Doc Serenity

    Doc Serenity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Posts:
    105
    You very much need therapy. Lots and lots of it.
    I'll pray for you.
    Doc
     
  9. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum

    Do they have a public beta release?
     
  10. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    well, you are a Doc, so when is my first session as Mr.Trjam.:)

    Sorry HiTech but it wasnt stable for me but that is my issue. But FSecure is doing great and these folks did a great job. So get ready to give it a run.
     
  11. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I have to wonder if it is an ironclad contract or is there a way to wiggle out of it?

    I will be glad when it is out. I wish IBK could have tested it. If it runs well, it has to be one of the 2 or 3 absolute top IS suites. I hope the slow start is corrected, although that was never a big factor for me.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  12. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    My short stint back with FSIS '07 wasn't a good one. While the XP version worked great I was having problems with a process, fssm32.exe, using 30-50% CPU in Vista which at times made things really slow. Web pages did seem to open faster than NIS even with HTTP scanning on.

    Good luck with the '08 :)
     
  13. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hi mitch,
    i had the same problem with that f-secure process in windows xp home with version 2007.
    lodore
     
  14. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    no, it just helps if you exercise your stock options.;) the web site is changing to reflect the new products. Heck, lodore might even like this one.:p
     
  15. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hi jeff,
    please give me a link to signup.
    i tryed some of the f-secure 2007 preview betas.
    but i like the fact of lighter.
    the only thing i didnt really like about the 2007 version mainly was the slow startup and quite alot of cpu usaage from one of the f-secure processes even when just web browsing.
    i will try the new beta.
    lodore
     
  16. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    lodore, there isnt a active link as of today. It will be out in less then a week then give it a go. It isnt the same old Chevy your Dad drove.;)
     
  17. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    is there a link to find out more infomation thou?
    lodore
     
  18. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Hi lodore, I did not experience this problem in XP. This goes to show you that instead of coming on here asking which IS or AV will work better on your computer, you just need to test drive them yourself. Software reacts differently with different machines and OS's.
     
  19. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Amen brother, amen
     
  20. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hi,
    your very correct you do need to test drive it on the computer you want to use it on and not just read other users experiences.
    lodore
     
  21. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Have a good run and keep reporting back. Shame to see you leave AVIRA but you could have done worse. Bless you.

    Oh yeah a week running right isn't that a lil bit 2 soon to start cheering?
     
  22. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    point noted.
     
  23. mata7

    mata7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    635
    Location:
    Mississauga, Canada
    i try FSIS 2007 and is a really nice aplication, the only think i dint like was it have like 13 process runing
     
  24. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    In spite of that I never noticed a slowdown on my systems.
    Best,
    Jerry
     
  25. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Some time back when i tried fsis 2007 i had to reformat. Maybe the installation conflicted with former av or firewall residu. However was 2 scared of trying it again. I did have 2006 running for some period but onfortunetly it slowed down
    startup of programs 2 much but i guess that's in the past for fsis at least i hope.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.