Free SPI capable firewall?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by RejZoR, Oct 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    So far i only know PCTools Firewall which is quiet ok but it has it's own glitches and i also heard their SPI isn't exactly implimented properly.
    Is there any other firewall with SPI capability, is free and also Vista compatible?
     
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Jetico comes to mind, v2 is not free, but v1 still is I think...
     
  3. Wordward

    Wordward Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Posts:
    707
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2007
  4. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Unfortunately, Jetico 1 does not support Vista.
     
  5. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Ok, sorry, I was looking at v2 on the web site.... you're right...

    How about ZA Free? I believe ZA has always had a decent SPI capability.. should be Vista compatible by now too..
     
  6. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    RejZoR,
    You're chasing ghosts :D Free firewall + full SPI + Vista support = very few options.
     
  7. Wordward

    Wordward Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Posts:
    707
    Try the link in post #3 just to see what all Webroot offers. I corrected the link and it should work this time.
     
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Well, thats why i asked here if anyone knows a firewall that i missed.
     
  9. Wordward

    Wordward Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Posts:
    707
    So you don't like Webroot Desktop Firewall, or isn't it as up to par as PC Tools Firewall?
     
  10. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I still have to check it out. There are few things bugging me with PCTools Firewall but i like it in general. Webroot will follow soon and then i'll decide.
     
  11. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Looks interesting, I'd like to try this one too. Says this:

    "Advanced Packet Filtering

    Features a layer-3 firewall which uses unique stateful packet inspection technology to detect and block unauthorized access to your system."

    Not sure what "unique stateful packet inspection technology" means, but maybe someone like Stem, who is more versed in this stuff, can have a look and comment soon...
     
  12. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    The Webroot firewall is a re-branded version of Private Firewall (PFW), minus the Dynamic Security Agent (DSA) component. PFW has scored very well in various leak tests, so it should be an excellent choice.

    See THIS Wilders thread.
     
  13. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    PCTools firewall seems to be better organized and permission popups are enabled by default while Webroot is not working this way.
     
  14. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Read the PCTools firewall forum regarding version 3.0. It has been a bit unstable for some users -- me included. If it works okay for you, it's a good choice -- however, I seem to recall that Stem had some reservations concerning the effectivenes of its SPI implementation.

    Some users have temporarily reverted to version 2 -- but that version lacked SPI altogether.
     
  15. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Webroot is working flawlessly for me and it does indeed have SPI capability as a main adjustable feature.

    Instead of the non existent DSA,Threatfire works well and presumably would give similar protection.

    The leaktests seem to suffer without DSA,if thats important to you,but Threatfire and your antivirus should take up the slack.
     
  16. Nubiatech

    Nubiatech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Comodo 3 beta implements SPI and is Vista compatible.
     
  17. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    What is the resource usage? Can u post some screen shots, popup alerts etc?

    Thanks
     
  18. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Very very chatty FW due to HIPS.
     
  19. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Aigle-please see WebRoot thread for screenshot etc. reference(basically same as PrivateFirewall)-see post no 36.

    Be interested what you think of it!

    As regards resource usage,two process services are running and strangely the totals for these vary between 15 to 30MB-at the moment 24mb.

    Quite high really,but in my own case I am running 2GB of memory,so dont really careo_O
     
  20. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Resource usage is OK.
    I will see the thraed u mentioned.

    Thanks
     
  21. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Comodo was great before they implimented stupid HIPS. Now i can't see it in 10m range. So freakin annoying thing. Don't even have clue why they went into implimenting that thing into firewall...
     
  22. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Totally agree!!! But be carefull about criticizing Comod-oh! -- there's a lot of fan-boys around here. ;)
     
  23. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    I suspect there are ways to make the HIPS less intrusive, just as there are ways to make Comodo 2.4 quieter. For example in 2.4 it is possible to allow TCP loopback by default and on an application by application basis skip the parent application check. It might not be able to pass every leak test after doing this, but that is a choice.
     
  24. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    RejZoR: i mentioned it before, see here
    Any other comment that overlooks this or if you don't wait for the final release to see the options, is, well, a complete waste of time..

    Please add your comment in that thread where it matters.
     
  25. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    The built in firewall that comes with XP SP2 and Vista uses SPI...

    Cheers,

    Alphalutra1
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.