Free on-demand scanners that fit these criterias

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by J_L, Nov 6, 2013.

  1. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Currently using:
    Emsisoft Emergency Kit
    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware
    Hitman Pro
    SUPERAntiSpyware
    Zemana AntiMalware
     
  2. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,292
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    :confused: For it to work "good" don't it need to have good detection rates? yes? no?
     
  3. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Yes, but I don't get infected these days. Even if I did, it may detect obscure malware, but at least tracking cookies are found. There is nothing wrong with it when I used SAS.
     
  4. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,400
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Microsoft Safety Scanner: http://www.microsoft.com/security/scanner/en-us/default.aspx.

    You can create a bootable USB version with it and do a scan if your infected and can't boot your PC.

    Tip: don't get rid of the installer. You can use it to download updates from your PC to the USB drive. Much faster that way.
     
  5. marzametal

    marzametal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Posts:
    766
    I have the same list, minus Hitman Pro (used the licence too many times, can't be bothered re-purchasing).
    All run from USB, except MBAM.

    I found your approach to custom-installing Avira interesting. I recently did the full install, and the amount of exe's that scream for Internet access is ghastly... 7 so far, including the update app. Would you happen to know if an Avira Cleaner exists (eg: after uninstall, clean residue left behind, similar to Emsisoft's EmsiClean)?
     
  6. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    @itman: That is an option I've used before, but I'd rather not reboot the computer just for some downloads or a quick scan.

    @marzametal: I stopped, because it became much harder with new Avira versions. It kept popping up offers and the tray icon reappears. Not sure if there is a removal tool, on my phone right now.
     
  7. metmichallica

    metmichallica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    183

    Does Hitman Pro find stuff that Zemana misses? Anyway I downloaded a free scan of Hitman Pro and it didn't detect anything. I really don't see how Hitman can detect anything if you have Zemana because Hitman only uses two engines which are used in Zemana also.
     
  8. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Well, they don't just upload to the cloud whatever they scan. The engines themselves are different in how they classify suspicious items and such.
     
  9. metmichallica

    metmichallica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    183
    I didn't know that, thank you. Although I wouldn't spring for Hitman Pro and I am a pretty safe surfer so I think it would be like overkill on my computer.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.