Free on-demand scanners that fit these criterias

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by J_L, Nov 6, 2013.

  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,995
    Is that the warning message that uninstalling Panda Cloud may remove some important computer component or something like that? I remember that was an issue a couple years ago.
     
  2. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Never uninstalled it, always restored from image or snapshot. The behaviour is as described, during and after scans.
     
  3. jnthn

    jnthn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Posts:
    185
    J_L, have you taken a look at Kaspersky Security Scanner? No disinfection though when a virus is found.

    -http://usa.kaspersky.com/downloads/free-anti-virus-scan

    -http://www.softpedia.com/get/Antivirus/Kaspersky-Security-Scan.shtml
     
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
  5. jnthn

    jnthn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Posts:
    185
    Hmm I thought KSS relied mostly on Kaspersky's cloud with locally stored sigs for offline use unlike AVZ. From it's FAQ:

    One more caveat aside from none removal of infection is it can not detect complex rootkits.
     
  6. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Sorry, thought it was Kaspersky Virus Removal Tool. Still unsure how it updates itself though. Don't see custom scan anywhere, so not what I'm looking for.
     
  7. guest

    guest Guest

    Would MSRT be a good suggestion? I have no idea about requirement #7 and #9 however.
     
  8. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Nope, doesn't meet requirement #2.
     
  9. dRag0nMa

    dRag0nMa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    SH China
    how about Avira Command Line Scanner ScanCL
    Code:
    http://is.gd/k1euoP
    it also has a gui @sf

    i used it as an ondemand scaner for years.
     
  10. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    I already added a custom install of Avira, so that would be redundant ( #8 ). Still, does it meet the rest of the requirements?
     
  11. guest

    guest Guest

    WU gives updates for it anyway, so you shouldn't need to manually download the installer again with your web browser. Essentially it's the same thing. Unless you deselect it when updating.
     
  12. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Does it download only the signatures and component updates? At what frequency?
     
  13. guest

    guest Guest

    I might be wrong, but I think it doesn't update its signature. You'll get a new version of the tool every once in a month or so. The scope seems to be limited, only detecting/removing some persistent malware.
     
  14. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
  15. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    The final list (for now) is:
    Avira Free Antivirus
    Comodo Cleaning Essentials
    Emsisoft Emergency Kit
    HitmanPro
    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware
    Norton Power Eraser
    Panda Cloud Cleaner
    Trend Micro HouseCall

    Honorary mention to VTchromizer, PeStudio, and avast! Free Antivirus. Large games from shady sources here I come! Just joking *winks at Sandboxie and Virtualbox*.
     
  16. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,983
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @J L
    Thanks for the list. Can Avira free AV really be used as an on-demand scanner with realtime AV's like Eset or Trend Micro(WSA is already compatible so would run fine)? Why didn't you put Avast! in the list but in the honorary mention list? Can it not be used as a full on-demand scanner?
     
  17. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Yes, Avira on-demand never caused any problems with real-time AV's the years of I've used it. Nor does it appear to hook deep enough into the system to potentially cause such conflicts. I haven't tried it with ESET or Trend Micro though. As for Avast, it's currently real-time for me. Plus take a look into this: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=150055
     
  18. guest

    guest Guest

    This has caught my attention. Elaboration please?
     
  19. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    That is only based on my years of experience with it and multiple real-time AV's, don't take my word for it. There are remnant drivers, services, and startup entries, but they don't seem to cause any problems during day-to-day use and malware testing. I've only disabled the startup entry, but so far nothing out of the ordinary.
     
  20. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,983
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Oh I see.
     
  21. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    565
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    I don't use any realtime-AV too, I simply use Hitman that lacks in custom scan and remove, but the second issue can be solved using the old but effective FileAssassin from MalwareBytes (portable version available on softpedia).
     
  22. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Removed NPE due to persistent FP's, low detection rates for Reputation Scan, and consistent reset of my custom start orb on reboot.
     
  23. Try a command line scanner which is cloud based :shifty: Sigcheck, , first checks the validity of program signature, next Virus Total. Example: sigcheck.exe -e -s -u -vr "C:\Program Files"

    Where you can change C:\Program Files" for any directory
     
  24. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    I already use PeStudio and VTchromizer for downloaded files, but bulk VT scanning... Other than FP's, is there a way to make it quick scan? I'd love to know the parameters of turning a custom scan into a quick scan.
     
  25. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Added back SAS since they fixed the FP's. Not too concerned with detection rates these days as long as it works.

    Removed PCC, because of FP's and length of time scanning even with custom scan. Also removed TMHC cause of how slow it scans and the fact it downloads everything into a temporary directory.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.