FREE McAfee Internet Security 2013 DOWNLOAD with License Key for 6 Months

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by zmechys, Feb 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    usa
  2. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    no thank you, I don't want to convert my computer into a turtle and get viruses
     
  3. silverfox99

    silverfox99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    204
    Not surprised they are giving it away. As well as poor detection in comparison to many other AVs, it is still pretty bloaty with noticeable slowdown when browsing.
     
  4. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Ditto, worst AV ever. What's wore, is that all companies in the UAE here use it! these IT guys have no idea what they're doing
     
  5. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    The companies you're talking about are probably using VirusScan Enterprise, which is a different solution. While it certainly wouldn't be my first choice, it's actually not awful. We use it at work, it's effective enough, at least from what I've experienced. The only noticeable drawback is a huge pc slowdown when a scan is running. Then it truly sucks, as your pc becomes almost unusable.
     
  6. Frank the Perv

    Frank the Perv Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    882
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    I used to have McAfee -- as I can get if free.

    Not interested in any McAfee software until they can get their act together.

    McAfee has been a perpetually disappointing AV for many years.
     
  7. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    They have to pay me to use it.:thumbd:
     
  8. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    They spammed me for years after my 1-year license had expired about the renewal. I don't really need that again....:eek:
     
  9. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    actually until you try the new version, you should not imply anything. Very good deal from them.
     
  10. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,013
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    agreed...and it would take a lot of $$$
     
  11. Bodhitree

    Bodhitree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    567
    Why aren't they out of business yet?
     
  12. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    they never will be, as long as you have the IT muppets from Dubai and the rest of the world buying 1000s of licenses every year

    here is my screenie at work, I wonder how many viruses I have on this PC
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 4, 2013
  13. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    ok, I will bite and report back tomorrow how it is. :)
     
  14. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,013
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    testing it out right now, does not mean i would run it though. ill post my findings later tomm, i also have the enterprise edition ill test and compare to the normal consumer edition....
     
  15. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    Hey trjam,

    I have been wanting to ask you for some time now exactly why you have been saying what appears to be "good things" about McAfee 2013 in this forum as of late, and this looks like the right thread to post it in.

    So, what makes McAfee 2013 something to write home about? o_O
     
  16. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    No thanks. I'm never getting McAfee on my machine.:D
     
  17. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    kdcdq, the best way I can say to chalk it up is, stupidity, plain stupidity on my part.

    I installed it last night and it is terrible. Long install like mcafee always is but it still has the same stupid GUI that is just plain cumbersome and tells you nothing. Got this quickly off my computer.
     
  18. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    How the mighty have fallen...time was McAfee was one of the de facto better av's...far in the past.
     
  19. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    I am actually surprised you did not know that Mcafee does indeed have a new GUI. The new GUI did not come with the arrival of the 2013 release but in the form of v12.1 last Nov. Only some people have it at the moment due to slow launch.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2013
  20. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    Ask a simple question; get a simple answer. :rolleyes:

    Apparently, it is what it is....:argh:
     
  21. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,013
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i have the new gui and its not at all as bad as before. MUCH better but still not great. detection however is only average. but know its not horrible its just okay since we cant post test results here i can only say that it did average
     
  22. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Maybe john Mcafee being arrested may also have some downside on the product.
    Most laptops here in the uk notably toshiba have Mcafee security installed at the factory.:argh:
     
  23. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Even with Artemis? I thought Artemis was pretty good at catching unknowns....
     
  24. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    usa
  25. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,007
    So now I have a third place I can get McAfee for free and I am still not using it.

    I know you cannot change something overnight but McAfee is a big company with alot of resources and should be producing a better product.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.