Free HIPS apps compatible with 7 x64?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by MisterMooth, Nov 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MisterMooth

    MisterMooth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Posts:
    39
    Hi. Can anyone tell me what free HIPS applications are compatible with Windows 7 x64? Thanks.
     
  2. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,066
    Defense+(Comodo)
     
  3. MisterMooth

    MisterMooth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Posts:
    39
    Oh, forgot to add that I don't want Comodo. It has a bug currently that causes computers to completely lock up when fullscreen apps are launched.
     
  4. Yanix

    Yanix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    Switzerland
    You have to put Defense+ and Firewall in learning mode and play with your game or fullscreen app 2min and the problem is solved.
     
  5. MisterMooth

    MisterMooth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Posts:
    39
    That's not solving the problem. I shouldn't have to do that. I don't *want* to do that.
     
  6. Yanix

    Yanix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I was talking of that problem.
     
  7. MisterMooth

    MisterMooth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Posts:
    39
    I know. And I said I didn't want to use Comodo for that very problem. I don't want to have to do that.
     
  8. Alcyon

    Alcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Montr?al, Canada
    MisterMooth, you could use LUA with UAC cranked on max settings!
     
  9. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    I agree with this as being the best solution - use what's built-in to Windows. Additionaly, if you have the Utlimate version, you could use AppLocker as well.
     
  10. karad

    karad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Posts:
    237
    MisterMooth,as I never had any problem of that sort with Comodo and cannot reproduce it in my computer,would you please let us know with what kind of an application the thing takes place?
     
  11. JamesFrance

    JamesFrance Guest

    He has been complaining about this on the Comodo forum. Because the full screen games are hiding the Defense+ alerts and he does not like the solutions suggested.

    Hopefully Comodo will find a way for the alerts to show, but I guess these games make that difficult. Hardly a bug in CIS.
     
  12. karad

    karad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Posts:
    237
    If not seeing alerts while at the same time being well protected is his aim,he could
    set Comodo Internet Security in a no alerts way, more or less in the same guise also SystemSafetyMonitor could be set in the past.

    MisterMooth can find more info in the Comodo Forum,if interested:


    The proceedings are the following,as reported in Comodo forums,it seems a lot,but it is really simple:


    If the user wants to go back it can be done in 3 minutes.
     
  13. Thanks for sharing this information. I hope this helps MisterMooth. :)
     
  14. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,066
    Yes this solve the problem, you also can configure it before lauch the app. (You dont want to spend 30 seconds preconfiguring the app and you want to use a HIPS?...)
    Other hips is outpost but the last time that I use it gave me blue screens using full screen apps, i dont know if they have already correct this bug.
     
  15. MisterMooth

    MisterMooth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Posts:
    39
    This never used to be a problem.

    What happens if I launch something that I assumed wasn't a fullscreen app, but really was? What if I just forget to set the rules? I've lost data because of this. I'm not going to risk using Comodo again until it's been fixed.
     
  16. karad

    karad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Posts:
    237
    What you say seems a bit pretextous to me...
    I'd bet you wont use Comodo even after a fix, so I have nothing else to say.
     
  17. MisterMooth

    MisterMooth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Posts:
    39
    No, I would switch instantly. I've been a happy CIS user for practically this whole year. I cannot wait for them to fix this, so I can switch back. I just want to know if there are any alternatives.
     
  18. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    does this lock up isues about the games or some thing else?
     
  19. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,066
    I only have had this problem with one videogame, so is not a generaliced bug with all the full screen apps.
     
  20. MisterMooth

    MisterMooth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Posts:
    39
    I've had it with a few. Some work and some don't. Maybe half of my games do it.
     
  21. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,066
    http://www.nsanedown.com/?request=8135622

    * Changes in 3.13.121240.574:
    * IMPROVED! AV engine now includes more advanced detection techniques
    * IMPROVED! Windows XP 64 registry protection has been hardened
    * FIXED! Defense+ does not handle object names properly while handling section names(Reported by our forum member wj32)
    * FIXED! Defense+ does not protect against registry key ACL modifications(Reported by our forum member wj32)
    * This release fixes a bug in build 572 that causes cmdagent.exe to crash under some circumstances.
    * This release fixes another bug in build 573/572/560 that might cause BSOD in Windows 7 under certain circumstances

    Maybe is already fixed
     
  22. MisterMooth

    MisterMooth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Posts:
    39
    No, I've tested it and it still hasn't been fixed.
     
  23. squid13

    squid13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Cantonment, FL
    I thought this thread was about Free HIPS apps compatible with 7 x64? It seems to be about Comodo.
     
  24. MisterMooth

    MisterMooth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Posts:
    39
    Not my fault. I only asked for alternatives to Comodo until they fix that problem.
     
  25. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i think this is the only free hips that is avaliable for windows 7 64 bits:D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.