Free Firewall (EVORIM)

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ichito, Apr 26, 2016.

  1. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Something new from Germany
    "Free firewall is a full-featured professional firewall that protects against the threats of the Internet. Control every program on your computer by permit or deny access to the Internet. Free Firewall will notify you if applications want to access the Internet in the background, without your knowledge. In Paranoid mode, no software can access on the Internet or network, without your prior consent. You have full control over the flow of data out of your system and into.
    (...)
    Free firewall is not only a full-featured firewall, but provides additional features to protect your privacy against attackers. Prevent that tracking services on web sites analyze your surfing habits. The firewall prevents the call of statistic and analysis services on Internet pages, which log the user behavior in the background.
    (...)
    Supported operating systems: Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 8.1, Windows 10
    Supported server operating systems: Windows 2008 R2, Windows 2012, Windows 2012 R2
    Hardware requirements: 128 MB RAM, 1 Ghz CPU, 100 MB Storage space"
    http://www.evorim.com/en/free-firewall
    Malwaretips thread
    https://malwaretips.com/threads/evorim-free-firewall-have-you-tried-it.59158/
     
  2. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    2,211
    Location:
    in a remote land :)
    seems to be a new (free) player in town :D

    be able to work alongside WF seems a good feature
     
  3. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,634
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I'm interested
     
  4. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,526
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    The GUI is simplistic enough (screenshots) that it reminds me of Sygate but in color. Wonder how the testers will judge this.
     
  5. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    An interesting idea to use 2 firewalls. GUI in their products looks primitive. it seems they are experimenting (playing), so not a reliable product.
     
  6. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  7. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I guess, there is an option to keep the second firewall on including Windows Firewall, since they advertise it as a feature in cooperative mode.
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Easy setting to use both FW's
     

    Attached Files:

  9. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,442
    Huh? Running two firewalls is never advised. You get slowdowns, BSODs and crashes.

    Run one firewall at a time.

    Evorim seems to be different from standard firewalls - on their website is this notice:

    Cooperative mode
    "Unlike many other Firewalls, Free Firewall can be operated with any other firewall in parallel. Also with Windows Firewall. So enjoy a higher level of protection and combine different functions to their added value and without extra cost."

    I may just test it. Its unique is that's its available in 32 and 64 bit versions.
     
  10. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,442
    I installed it - OA blocked it so I had to exclude the path under options\exclusions for it to run.

    The rule about not running two firewalls holds true. You can only run one at time or lose your Internet connection.

    With the firewall off, it will exist happily alongside whatever firewall you do run as an application firewall.

    A word of advice: keep the default credulous setting unless you want to block everything (that's called paranoid mode DUH) and don't turn on blockade!!!
     
  11. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    I'm currently running Sygate and the Windows built in firewall in Xp. This machine has been running it this way for several years. It really depends on the firewalls. If they really are compatible, it is not a problem. In this case, they complement each other and add a layer of redundant security.

    The Free Firewall looks interesting. My preference for anything beyond Xp is the built in Windows firewall, sometimes with the addition of Windows Firewall Control. This one looks worth giving a test run at least.
     
  12. Boblvf

    Boblvf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Posts:
    103
  13. marzametal

    marzametal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Posts:
    732
    Does it rely on any .NET framework?
     
  14. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Disable BFE service and WFP is non-functional.
     
  15. Boblvf

    Boblvf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Posts:
    103

    Off topic and suicidal.
     
  16. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    841
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Unfortunately it doesn't support XP.
    I tried to install it but got a message in german and the install stopped there.
     
  17. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    No, but the newly free Jetico firewall does which is worth trying on Xp. I tested all the free firewalls that supported Xp a couple of years ago trying to find a replacement for Sygate and none of them really worked for me and I ended up keeping Sygate and having both Sygate and the Windows firewall active at the same time.
     
  18. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    528
    I tried it on Win 10 64 bit. Not really impressed. It didn't block test files and would not let me white list known safe programs. I'll stick with Windows 10 Firewall Control (works on everything from XP to Win 10)
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2016
  19. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    I've tried on Vista...the same result.
     
  20. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,442
    It only supports Windows 7, 8 and 10.

    That's why it won't install on legacy Microsoft Windows operating systems.

    Evorim issued an update today for the firewall.

    Internet rules are simple: green for allowed, red for blocked.
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2016
  21. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,442
    As I mentioned, in the programs tab, green is for allow, red is for block, on services, light blue is for allow, purple is for block.

    If you're going run the firewall, be sure to set svchost on light blue or you will not be able to access the Internet.

    Its in the services tab.

    No complicated rules to configure. Its a great firewall for newbies because setting it up is as straightforward as setting the correct color for the rules you want to apply to a program or service.
     
  22. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    528
    The problem I had was that I would change known safe programs from red to green and EVORIM would change them all back to red. It would also not block the GRC Leaktest. I never once got any popups for any programs. Windows 10 Firewall Control has proven to be much more effective and lighter on resources.
     
  23. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,442
    Strange.

    Have you installed the update that came out today?

    It should resolve your issue. And surprisingly, it now plays nicely with my ZA firewall when the firewall is turned on.

    As for Steve Gibson's LeakTest, the general consensus is its worthless:

    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/t/535618/windows-firewall-fails-leak-test/

    The reason given is that all firewalls allow outbound connections - if they didn't, no legitimate program could ever connect to the Internet.

    Its more than sufficient for a firewall to stop inbound connections - that's its job. If that's taken care of, your computer is secure.
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2016
  24. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    528
    Today's update still keeps blocking whitelisted programs. My Vivaldi browser has no internet access, I change red to green and it keeps resetting to red. Uninstalled. Not ready for prime time.
     
  25. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,442
    That shouldn't happen. Once you select a rule, it should remain the rule.

    You might want to let tech support know of the issue so a fix can be made.
     
Loading...