Free EXE blocker?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by pintas, Nov 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pintas

    pintas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    171
    Is there a exe blocker that is free to use on Win 7 x64?


    I want a simple program that whitelists everything executable on my computer and prevents access to any new executables with a password protection, simple.
    Can't find a decent executable blocker anywhere.

    If there is none, i will make one. But i am very busy these days.... :doubt:
     
  2. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    You can use a standard user account and the parental controls to create a whitelist... no need for a third part app in this case.
     
  3. pintas

    pintas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    171
    I knew about that, but thanks. ;)
    The problem is, if i need to manually create a whiltelist for each program installed on my computer... i'll spend hours doing it.
    I need something practical.
     
  4. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,695
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    NVT EXE Radar Pro has all the features you are asking for.
    The price is 20$ for a lifetime license.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2012
  5. pintas

    pintas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    171
    Exactly. :) Its not that i find it expensive, i never even tried it. But a program with these characteristics (what i'm looking for, not exe radar pro) is so simple in concept to program that i find it hard how there's not a freebie available.
     
  6. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Using the parental controls you can simply select all the exe´s in your computer (you have a option to them select all). This way for every new exe trying to execute in the computer it will be displayed a prompt for you to insert the admin password (if i'm remember rigth). Probably not exactly what you´re looking for but i dont know any free program that do that :/
     
  7. pintas

    pintas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    171
    Thanks for your help.

    I found that Install Guard is actually pretty close to what i'm looking for.
    I'll keep it for now and i'll try making a simillar app via basic or something like it. :)
     
  8. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    I'm using Software Restriction Policy to block execution of new exes. Programs in Program files and Windows folder are allowed to run. All other locations are blocked.
    To put exe on allowed locations one needs administrative privileges. Standard user needs admin password to do that. In my case they don't know it.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 8, 2012
  9. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,695
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Hmmmm.....
    It is still in beta.
    Last version update was almost 4 months ago.
    I'm not sure if it has something like Lockdown mode.
     
  10. pintas

    pintas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    171
    Don't know what you mean with lockdown mode, but it allows me to block new executables. I found some limitations in it though. I'll contact the developers to give them some ideas...
     
  11. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,695
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Lockdown mode (in NVT)=automatically block all executables that are not whitelisted.
     
  12. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    A free version is available for NVT exe radar
     
  13. pintas

    pintas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    171
    Yeah i know, just tried it.
    It doesn't allow me to lock it with a password. :(
     
  14. flatfly

    flatfly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Posts:
    66
  15. pintas

    pintas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    171
    Remote Server Administration Tools is required for this and the download is around 240mb......wow!
    With my internet speed i'll need hours just to download this :)

    But it is a very cool feature. I'm working on something like SRP gui to ease my setup.

    Thanks.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.