Free Beta Demo of OPSWAT MD4SA Process Scanner

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by OPSWAT, Feb 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OPSWAT

    OPSWAT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Posts:
    19
    Hi folks,
    We've developed a product (based on our multi-scanning Metascan product) called MetaDefender for Secure Access (MD4SA). On our website we have a beta demo client that we would love for a small, dedicated group of knowledgeable, security-obsessed types such as yourselves to try and report back on.

    An example of an intended final use case would be in an environment with an SSL VPN system. Anyone trying to log on to the VPN would be required to scan their active processes prior to a login being allowed (and denied access if a threat was discovered). MD4SA is easily integrated into products from vendors like Juniper and F5.

    Some important information:
    It is not a replacement for an AV product. MD4SA does not scan an entire file system. It quickly scans the active processes and process modules on your system using 8 antivirus engines (AVG, CA, ClamWin, ESET, Norman, Quick Heal, Sunbelt and VirusBuster).

    This product is in beta. However, we have tested it and don't have any reports of it crashing systems or anything like that.

    The "deep scan" option will increase your scanning time. In that case it scans the process modules associated with the process in addition to the process itself.

    Since it is just a demo it is not built using the most robust server. Right now it can probably only reasonably handle somewhere around 25 concurrent connections. Performance might be affected by this. We are only doing a very limited release at present. Mostly to some clients, however, I thought this forum was a perfect place to "quietly" test and launch something like this.

    We are also doing internal "stress" testing at this time, so that will likely negatively affect scan time.

    The first scan may take several minutes, because this is a new application and it is still building a cached library of hashes. Please run the application twice. The second time should take significantly shorter. (We've often seen the first scan take 2-5 minutes and the second scan take 6-20 seconds). As the product gets deployed, it "learns."

    Download it at the MD4SA home page (http://www.opswat.com/products/metadefender-for-secure-access)

    We would love to have you report your experiences. Just reply to this thread with the following info:
    Length of time for scan (1st and 2nd)
    Number of items scanned (product will report this at completion)
    Your location (city and country, or just country if you like)
    Any issues? (If you have an issue a screenshot of the UI/issue is always appreciated)
    Your OS/environment (always appreciated)

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2010
  2. BrendanK.

    BrendanK. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    520
    Location:
    Australia
    Seems great so far :)

    Items scanned: 461
    Location: Australia

    1st scan time: 3:41
    2nd scan time: 34:09

    O/S: Windows XP SP3

    Issues: 2nd scan time took extremely long.
     
  3. OPSWAT

    OPSWAT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Posts:
    19
    Wow. Very odd behavior. Were you using the executable or the persistent client?

    In either case, I would be curious to see what a third attempt would bring... if you have the time of course!
    Thanks.
     
  4. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Basic Scan

    Length of time for scan (1st and 2nd): I didnt get to see the first one, but the second was 1 second.
    Number of items scanned: 19 the second time.
    Your location USA
    Your OS/environment: Windows 7 Pro x64

    Deep Scan

    Length of time for scan (1st and 2nd): 2 seconds
    Number of items scanned: 272 the second time
    Your location USA
    Your OS/environment: Windows 7 Pro x64

    Both cases it showed the first scan window results briefly and immediately did another scan. Not sure why. I tried uninstalling and clearing everything out to no avail.
     
  5. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    XP VM scan seems stuck at initialising.

    Vista VM - deep scan unticked - first scan 2.14 second scan 2 secs.

    Scan ends in an error with a rogue active.

    Scan.JPG
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.