Free Avast and MSE

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by niki, Jun 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. niki

niki Registered Member

I deleted AVG 9 a few days ago and installed Free Avast v 5. No problems so far.

Now I read the info on AV Comparatives and saw that Microsoft Security Essentials has a better score than Avast.

Now I would like to try out MSE for a bit without removing Avast from my computer. I know that one cannot use 2 A/V at a time.

That's why I have this question below.

Can I disable Avast Shields Control by right clicking their icon in the taskbar, install MSE and try it out until I would restart the computer? I'm looking for certain features in MSE that I can't find info about.

Would the above not cause any conflicts?

I'm looking forward to an answer and thank you in advance.

Please be gentle as I am a senior Noob.

Windows Home XP3, Firefox, PC Tools FW, Free Avast v5, Malwarebytes', SAS, SpywareBlaster.

2. clocks

clocks Registered Member

Don't take so much from one test. There are other tests were Avast bests MSE. And tests were Avira beats them both, and so on.

They are both good. If you are happy with Avast, stick with it.

3. sded

sded Registered Member

I have run the two together with no problems, although I don't know how they would react if you actually get a virus. MSE doesn't have shields, so they shouldn't interfere. The AV comparatives was done with an early version of the avast! 5, so avast! improvements are always expected, whether you believe in AVC or not. And next review many of the ratings will be reversed anyway. What they are really telling you in AVC is that more than a classical AV is necessary, but they aren't really equipped to do the full testing yet-thus the low scores for all. :)

4. niki

niki Registered Member

Thank you clocks. Yes, so far I'm happy with Avast! If one needs to take the AV Comparatives with a grain of salt, why are they then in business?