Free AV, needed 2 or 1?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by aigle, Feb 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    If you use a free antivirus, do you need two or only one is enough.
     
  2. Ga1tar

    Ga1tar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Posts:
    118
    Location:
    U.K
    If you have already got one that is doing its job, why bother looking for another....sometimes it is better to stick to what works best for you
     
  3. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    I think the best rule is to stick to only one resident real-time monitor of Anti-virus...coz I ask some developers and they said that it might cause some conflicts if two resident real-time scanner were running. Better option should be to use one antivirus w real-time scanning, and then have a back-up/s AV that you can use, that should only scheduled to run manually for an on-demand scanning. :cool:

    In my case, I uses Avast Home and I also have BitDefender 8 and ClamWin antivirus. All of them are free.
     
  4. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    So if you have two AV, one real time scanner and other only for on-demand,they will not conflict? I guess still they can. I see some AV wil not even install if you have already one AV.
     
  5. Thorny

    Thorny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    I wonder if you would be better off using an online scanner for the on-demand scans, Trend, Bitdefender or F-secure spring to mind for instance? I found that the Trend on-line scanner found several malware infections that were not in the Avast database, although on each occasion I must say that I never noticed any performance problems with my PC.
     
  6. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    One av should be good enough. Make sure you practice safe hex and periodically check your machine with Kaspersky ON-Line Scanner.


    tD
     
  7. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    As you can see I have three anti-virus mentioned above... some even have more. :D The two.. BitDefender 8 and ClamWin has no real-time scanning functions, so they will not conflict in anyway. :cool:

    Try installing it again...it happens to me before that I can't install BitDefender 8 and I tried again choosing custom installations and it's a success. :D
     
  8. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    That's classic overkill.

    regards.

    paul
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    U may be right. I was worried for two, and I wonder sombody is using 3 at a time, difficult to engulf for me atleast.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.