Free AV for Malwarebytes?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Durad, May 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    Canada
    Anybody running Avast 5 with MBAM?

    Im thinking to use Avast or Avira, I like Avira but recently when I scan new malware on Virustotal often it does not detect it.. A year ago Avira detected most of them.

    So what are you running with Malwarebytes and did you get any conflict between MBAM and AV?
     
  2. iravgupta

    iravgupta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Posts:
    605
    If you are running MBAM Pro version with realtime monitoring enabled, then there is a theoretical possibility of conflict with any AV you choose. The conflict may not occur on every configuration out there, which will eventually result in 'I am running <insert-av-name-here> with MBAM, both in real-time, without any issues' kind of posts.
     
  3. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I would say Panda AV, really awesome and very light.
    Though i dont know if there are any conflicts between these two :D
     
  4. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I am running Avast 5 Free with MBAM Pro active on two computers; one with W7 64 bit, and the other WXP.
    I have experienced zero problems, and can recommend that combination.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  5. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I am running MBAM with Avast IS and both of them running smoothly without any conflicts:)
     
  6. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    No conflicts with PCAV and Malwarebytes here.
     
  7. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I was running avast 5 free and MBAM with IP blocking off but running real time. No conflicts. It was actually running well with PCtools.
     
  8. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Woops, i meant Panda Cloud AV :D :thumb:
     
  9. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Same here,Avast 5 with MBAM (with Website Blocking enabled-it seems that with version 1.46 this issue was pretty much resolved,at least for me :D ).
    No conflicts or problems whatsoever.:thumb:
     
  10. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,937
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! Currently have Avast 5.0...Free with MBAM Pro...but not running Pro in realtime...as it might conflict with Prevx 3.0. Otherwise no conflicts whatsoever. Sincerely...Securon
     
  11. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Prevx is made to work with others - both AV and AM solutions - and since MBAM is released LOOONG ago, I'm pretty sure they've a confirmed compatibility with MBAM as well. :D
     
  12. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yup, been running them together for quite some time (MBAM in real time with IP Blocking off) and no issues at all. See my sig.
     
  13. 3GUSER

    3GUSER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    812
    Malwarebytes Free or Paid version ?

    In my opinion there are no good free antivirus products - they all have some important disadvantages. But I'll never ever run Avast , AVG or Clam. You might try Microsoft Security Essentials , Panda Cloud and decide if you like them . They both won't conflick with MBAM.
     
  14. 337

    337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Posts:
    232
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    Might I ask as to why you would never run these? Off topic I know just curious...
     
  15. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    +1 yeah I second that inquiry
     
  16. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Avira 10 Personal and MBAM no conflicts.
     
  17. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    In your opinion no good free antivirus.....MSE and Panda cloud....what they areo_O?Paid?And they are better then the other free oneso_OOn what conclusion?
     
  18. 3GUSER

    3GUSER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    812
    They are free but the only ones I might possible use under some very special curcumstances.


    Based on my own experience and real-world practise
     
  19. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Running Avast 5 free along with MBAM Pro on my laptop without issue. And FWIW- Avast 5 free version runs better on my computers than any paid antivirus I have ever used.
     
  20. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    One Comment !!

    Different People Different Tastes...
     
  21. adik1337

    adik1337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    199
    bottom line ... you can run any free av along w/ malwarebytes (I haven't heard of any that conflicts w/ mbam, avast did but it has been patched) ... try them first and see what fits your needs and what runs well on your pc. Don't take advise that A is better then B because it may not apply to your needs and pc config at all.
     
  22. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Ok,i don't want to go more off-topic here.You are convinced that paid are better than free.Remember...often,you pay just for the brand of the software and not for its qualities.
     
  23. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Nobody will Pay "A" if the software quality is not good, and if he's found "B" a good one then he'll definitely pay for it.

    Brand doesn't matter here, what matters is quality...If quality is not good no one gonna use it and pay for it....
     
  24. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows

    Regardless the AV I use,

    http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=10138


    If you're having issues with Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware freezing when scanning or when enabling the Protection Module or Updates being blocked then please try the procedures below

    For Windows XP:

    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbam.exe
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamgui.exe
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamservice.exe
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\zlib.dll
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbam.dll
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamext.dll
    C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Malwarebytes\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\rules.ref
    C:\Windows\System32\drivers\mbam.sys
    C:\Windows\System32\drivers\mbamswissarmy.sys

    For Windows Vista and Windows 7:

    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbam.exe
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamgui.exe
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamservice.exe
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\zlib.dll
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbam.dll
    C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamext.dll
    C:\ProgramData\Malwarebytes\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\rules.ref
    C:\Windows\System32\drivers\mbam.sys
    C:\Windows\System32\drivers\mbamswissarmy.sys

    For 64 bit versions of Windows Vista and Windows 7:

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbam.exe
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamgui.exe
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamservice.exe
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\zlib.dll
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbam.dll
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamext.dll
    C:\ProgramData\Malwarebytes\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\rules.ref
    C:\Windows\System32\drivers\mbam.sys
    C:\Windows\SysWoW64\drivers\mbamswissarmy.sys
     
  25. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Actually,i was talking about people who don't know much about an AV...for them is more than enough that the AV is...(no names here),big boys,let's put it this way...and they will pay,no matter what,just because the AV is a "hard" name,a "big" name..and often,they get the same protection with a free AV...
    On the other hand,i have licenses for big AV names,from free offers,promotions...tried them...but i'm not impress at all.So,i decided that a free AV,Avast to be more precisely,cover all my needs.Anyway,that's just MHO.

    So,Avast and MBAM are a brilliant combo!(on topic) :p
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.