Free 180 days: FortKnox Personal Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by J_L, Jun 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
  2. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Thanks! I grabbed a 6-month license for Ft Knox Firewall (FKFW). I will test it on one of my secondary images.

    AFAIK, FKFW has no HIPS-- unlike Outpost, Private FW, & Online Armor. Ergo, if FKFW runs really light & strong, I plan to pair it up with HIPS-apps such as SpyShelter or Mamutu & let it run for a while.
     
  3. Spooony

    Spooony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    514
    thanks going to test it out
     
  4. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    thx for the info :D

    @bellgamin :
    they have "built-in Intrusion Prevention System"
    does that means HIPS?
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2011
  5. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    Does the 180 days start now or when you install it?
     
  6. Rules

    Rules Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    Location:
    Europa
  7. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Thanks for the heads up. Anyone here using it yet?
     
  8. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,115
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    No, it is not a HIPS.

    In trialing FKFW I found that its I/O usage is much much higher than Private FW, or Online Armor, or Outpost. This extra I/O usage by FKFW is strange since the other 3 named FW all have HIPS whereas FKFW does not. OTOH, FKFW does have a good looking GUI. :cautious:

    I shall not keep this FW.
     
  10. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Thanks for your post! I shall pass on this.

    Cheers.
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    Interesting. I installed it, and am finding no I/O issue at all. In fact it is one of the lightest firewalls I've tried since the old Ghostwall. I may in fact leave it on my machine.

    Pete
     
  12. Kirk Reynolds

    Kirk Reynolds Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Posts:
    224
    I tried it in a vm on a XP guest, and watched the Fort Knox processes while I launched different applications and surfed the web. The I/O and cpu usage were 0 the whole time. Maybe it was the virtual environment, I don't know, but in that instance, it was very efficient.

    @JL
    Thanks for the link.
     
  13. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    Hi all, I haven't tried FKPF (yet) but reading the PDF, I saw under Options; Enable Process Defense System.
    To what extend does this offer HIPS(like) features in combination with features like the 'Trusted applications'- and 'Enable fingerprint authentication' options?
     
  14. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    Is there any chance to get some nice screenshots of this wonderful program ? :)
     
  15. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    Thx for the info

    I will test the IO usage
     
  16. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
  17. Kirk Reynolds

    Kirk Reynolds Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Posts:
    224
    I just tried it again, but this time in a real XP machine instead of a VM, and got the same results with respect to I/O and cpu usage (0). Running the program with default settings. Also, I think the ram usage for the firewall is actually less with the real machine than it was in the VM. Very light firewall. Both clean XP sp3 installs fully updated with no other security software installed.

    Edit: It or something has however slowed my internet download speed to a crawl on that XP machine. I didn't try to tweak the default settings. I Uninstalled it and the internet download speed is back to normal.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2011
  18. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
  19. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    This is the one that is based on the old Sygate Personal Firewall if I remember right, so parts of it should actually look somewhat familiar....
     
  20. noway

    noway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Posts:
    351
  21. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Don't quote me on it, but I imagine it would revert back to the free version, with some features disabled, if not you would have to renew the subscription.
     
  22. johncage

    johncage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    70
    Does FortKnox Personal Firewall support IPv6 ?


    Thanks
     
  23. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Hola Pete- I measured I/O usage by Process Hacker's "Total I/O" column. FtK showed 2 processes & was using 3-5 KB I/O almost constantly. I trialed FK on a clean image so I'm sure there were no FW remnants on it. Will trial it again in a week or so. No time now. Will grab some screenshots of Process Hacker for FK when I re-trial.

    Confucious say: In year of the rabbit, screenshot is better than thousand words. :cool:
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2011
  24. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Testing platform: VMWare 7, Windows 7x64

    Process Explorer shows the FortKnoxGUI.exe routinely spikes the CPU excessively, and CPU time for it seems quite high imo, although I could be off base here, especially since I haven't run any software firewalls or HIPS in a long time, preferring the built-in stuff in Windows instead ;)

    It seems not possible (at least I don't see it) to create fine-tuned rules from application alerts, allowing the option to set specific protocol, ports and ip address values. It can't even be done in the "Individual Application Rules" window. Instead it has to be done within the "Advanced Firewall Rules/Filtering" window, starting from scratch, forcing the user to build them manually. Rather cumbersome.
     
  25. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,485
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Ok...screenshots from Anvir Task Manager
    110702084640_1.jpg 110702084701_2.jpg
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.