FP by Nod32 Antivirus V. 3 against Prevx Edge & Defensewall

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by 3TAMMUZ, Feb 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 3TAMMUZ

    3TAMMUZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    While the Nod 32 Antivirus V. 3 having scaned on-demand (default setting) my C drive, it automatically has deleted the Prevx Edge as well as the Defensewall (both paid ones and installed prior to the Nod32). I could only get them back correct by system restoration. I was made aware well that the prevx's process cannot be turned off by force unless the user switches it into the installation mode. I was unpleasantly astonished. Eventually, I must re-install them both for proper performance because it, de facto, has emptied the most files from the program directory.

    I've just gave a notice to the Prevx support over this unpleasant issue and I'm not certain whether I should put this again onto the Official ESET Support Forum here or not. I wonder why I didn't heard this problem yet from anyone, or I might have been an outlander over this kind of FP issue.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Re: FP by Nod32 V. 3 against Prevx Edge & Defensewall

    ESET does generate false positives against our software and there isn't much we can do to fix it besides having users complain to them to fix the FP. Nearly every new version of CSI or Edge has generated a false positive from ESET but they aren't whitelisting new versions automatically so we have to ask them each time to fix the false positive.

    The best way to get this resolved is going to be to contact ESET and send them the program files or links to download Edge/Defensewall so that they can fix their FPs.
     
  3. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
  4. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Yup, Nod does this all the time. Try to install the Nod product first - then Prevx after Nod has had chance to update.
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I just add C:\Program Files\Prevx\Prevx.exe to the exclusion list in EAV or ESS until it gets fixed!

    TH
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.