FortKnox Personal Firewall 2006

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by DVD+R, Jan 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  3. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    There does appear to of been an update on this firewall, have installed, and running o.k.
    I will play for a while.
     
  4. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    HI Stem,

    is this firewall any good ? Let us know what you think of it.Thanks
     
  5. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    It looks to have Sygate's technology. The connections/attack graph was similar, as were the settings.
     
  6. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Banshee,
    It is an easy firewall to use, as it can be simply used as an application firewall, with advanced rules per application if required.
    There is a sig based IDS, and options to block unsolicited ARP/DNS/IP to help prevent spoofing. Rules for local network / DNS / DHCP etc are placed as options to allow/block, so no need to create rules for these.

    It does fall at the fact, like "Sygate firewall", there is no control on the localhost comms. So if you use a localhost proxy (such as "proxo"), then the outbound protection is bypassed.
    Advanced rules do not intercept localhost, so localhost must be hard_coded to allow within this firewall.
     
  7. Velnias

    Velnias Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    Uses about 30M of RAM - not a small one.
     
  8. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,696
    Hello,
    That's about 4-5 times more than Sygate does - even with 500-800 connections with P2P.
    Mrk
     
  9. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,696
    Hello,
    Tried it, feels ok. Simple.
    In my case, the FortKnox.exe eats 5K, GUI eats 11K.
    Mrk
     
  10. Velnias

    Velnias Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    Hello Mrk,
    Seems like after some time mem usage goes down :oops: .
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 6, 2007
  11. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Mrkvonic,
    I think you may of left some "0" off the mem usage, possibly 5,000k for FortKnox.exe?

    To all:
    From my installation, the GUI did at one point go to 44,000k, a quick exit,- re-enable did put this down to 14,000k and stayed around this for the 24 hours of installation.
     
  12. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    Is there any way to make your own rules in this firewall? Because otherwise, I might as well stay with my AntiVir Premium and ZoneAlarm Free combo.
     
  13. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi mvdu,

    Go to "Advanced" -> "Add rule"
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    You will then get a window to add your rule:-
     

    Attached Files:

    • rule.JPG
      rule.JPG
      File size:
      80.5 KB
      Views:
      605
  15. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    Thanks, Stem!

    I hope they keep up development, because then maybe it can become the updated Sygate that many wanted.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.