Fortinet Security Suite

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dw426, Sep 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,785
    I installed this suite, but can't get it to update. It just say "update is processing, waiting for result", then comes back "network error!".

    Anyone else having a similar error?
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2009
  2. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,995
    Anyone test this against malware yet? Or is it difficult enough just testing it against clean, everyday software?

    Also, anyone install this without the firewall?

    I can't find screenshots anywhere except the one by keyboard_commando (thanks btw)

    Thanks Tester
     
  3. BrendanK.

    BrendanK. Guest

    I tested it against some malicious links (mainly the WebGuard). It blocked rogue malicious links very effectively.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    I'd like someone to confirm they are really using their own AV engine (as guessed in post #15)
     
  5. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,292
    Location:
    USA,IA
  6. bogart

    bogart Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Posts:
    14
    I cannot download the suite, and dont know why.

    can anyone who has this upload it online so I can download it.

    I want to try this
     
  7. matt231

    matt231 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    They do use their own engine on their gateway products, so i'd assume FortiClient (which ties in very closely with FortiGate) would be the same.
     
  8. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Thanks for the confirmation, Matt :thumb:
     
  9. thathagat

    thathagat Guest

  10. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    My WebGuard is deactivated saying that it is expired. Does anyone know why? On the webpage and durig the installation it says that the web filter is free too... :'(
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2009
  11. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,
    A couple of queries, for those who have already installed it. Can you install each component seperately ie, my firewall is fine can the firewall be left out ?

    Secondly, I am sure it is free, but sometimes vendors (maybe not Fortinet) take advantage of the English language by saying it is a 'free download' but to continue using it after installation will need a license purchase.
    This kind of misleading info I have seen a lot with various software.

    Gordon
     
  12. simisg

    simisg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    412
    Location:
    Greece
    forticlient is completely free but you can not install antivirus only but you can install firewall only
     
  13. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for the reply simisg.


    Gordon
     
  14. bogart

    bogart Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Posts:
    14
    ISSUE SOLVED
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2009
  15. Warklen

    Warklen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Posts:
    112
    I have it installed right now with only the antivirus
     
  16. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    UK
    Ah Warklen,
    That's good news many thanks.

    Gordon
     
  17. thathagat

    thathagat Guest

  18. tipstir

    tipstir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    SFL, USA
    Interesting stories but how stable is this software suite? Sounds like a lot of you are having web guard issues. Still again another free suite. All these third party reviews say nay to the product though. It's missing Spam feature but again SpamBayes which is also free does a better job dividing up spam junk from real email. I'll keep close eye on this suite but won't start testing it out when what I got listed below works stable for the moment.
     
  19. DesElms

    DesElms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    This is what I was going to cite. I like Raymond and his blog, but I wouldn't exactly call him a security software expert...

    ...yet just look at all the problems he found with the product!

    I would say that FortiClient is a no go... not just based on Raymond's findings, mind you. I've read, elsewhere, about some of the very things he cited, as well as pretty much everything negative which others, here, have found.

    I think FortiClient is a WONDERFUL idea... lightweight, looks good, user friendly, an actual "enpoint" style product...

    ...but without actual PERFORMANCE, it's little more than a good-looking notion.

    That said, if FortiClient actually WORKED, Comodo Internet Security, for one, would have some serious worries. Since the folks at Fortinet will quite likely be improving FortiClient over time, I'm thinking Comodo should be worried, in any case.

    Just my $.02 worth... which my ex-wife will say is pretty much all it's worth.



    ________________________________
    Gregg L. DesElms
    gregg at greggdeselms dot com
    Napa, California
     
  20. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,785
    I just unistalled it. I couldn't get it to update. It spawn about 10 separate processes, eating close to 80meg of ram.

    I know most people dont care about ram, but how can Comodo, norton, etc. make a suite that uses 10meg or less, while this thing uses close to 100meg? Seems bloated, ala McAfee to me.
     
  21. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    My thoughts exactly and the first thing that popped into my head was Mcafee.
    I was going to try it on my laptop but think I'll let it slide.
    Ram is not an issue here but I don't believe in wasting it either. :thumbd:
     
  22. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,785
    Honestly, the suite seemed almost like a beta to me. Maybe I need to try it on one of my other rigs, but seeing all those processes reminded me of McAfee, so I will probably stick to other setups.
     
  23. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,292
    Location:
    USA,IA
    I tested it with a few trojans and worms, it is like beta. kinda crappy, they need to fix a lot
     
  24. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Detection rates are not up with other free products available. At least for now you're better of with AVG/avast!/MSE combined with a free firewall from PC Tools or COMODO.

    (Judgment based on command-line version of Fortinet.)
     
  25. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    355
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Not that i am a member on those forums but i found this thread there that might be helpfull...or not. :)

    http://support.fortinet.com/forum/tm.asp?m=53726&p=1&tmode=1&smode=1

    I do not have FortiClient installed, so i have no idea whether the solution in the last post works or not.

    Did you test it already, if so what where the results so far?
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.