Fortinet Forticlient Standard Free Edition (Internet Security)

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Wan, Feb 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wan

    Wan Guest

  2. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Paris
  3. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
  4. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    If I remember correctly, it used a ton of resources.
     
  5. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
  6. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    You remembered correct,lol.
     
  7. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    Yep, I checked my records. It used about 80meg of ram, and was buggy. Maybe they made improvements since then.
     
  8. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    I tried the previous incarnation and found it to have too many bugs, among them the repeated pop-up stating "Your Web Shield Has Expired" or something to that effect.

    Like others, I have seen relatively poor detection rates so I consider it nothing much more than a change of pace; something interesting to try but not something I would want for my primary antivirus defense.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2010
  9. codylucas16

    codylucas16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    267
    From my experience the web filter is good, but it couldn't block anything I threw at it without using the HIPS.

    Also the firewall came up every second saying it was blocking IP addresses.
     
  10. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    Not since two weeks ago from my trial and rollback
     
  11. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    I decided to give this a spin on my work notebook in an Active directory environment as we are looking to change solutions, and I am miffed at how to get this thing to update. It cannot find the update servers, ever.... weird. Anyone else have issues updating. I did look into the Sonicwall and see nothing but normal update traffic?
     
  12. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have run this app on several computers with different OS's and never had a problem with it updating.
    bigc
     
  13. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Lastnight I tried it on a fresh Windows 7 install at home(dual booting ofc) and it took forever to update, around 15 minutes, but finally did finish. So I do believe it is just taking to long to update and is getting killed. No way I can ever remotely try to support something like that. To much work.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.