Fortinet Forticlient Standard Free Edition (Internet Security)

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Wan, Feb 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wan

    Wan Guest

  2. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,348
    Location:
    Paris
  3. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    815
  4. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,676
    If I remember correctly, it used a ton of resources.
     
  5. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,834
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen
  6. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    You remembered correct,lol.
     
  7. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,676
    Yep, I checked my records. It used about 80meg of ram, and was buggy. Maybe they made improvements since then.
     
  8. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    I tried the previous incarnation and found it to have too many bugs, among them the repeated pop-up stating "Your Web Shield Has Expired" or something to that effect.

    Like others, I have seen relatively poor detection rates so I consider it nothing much more than a change of pace; something interesting to try but not something I would want for my primary antivirus defense.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2010
  9. codylucas16

    codylucas16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    267
    From my experience the web filter is good, but it couldn't block anything I threw at it without using the HIPS.

    Also the firewall came up every second saying it was blocking IP addresses.
     
  10. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    Not since two weeks ago from my trial and rollback
     
  11. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    I decided to give this a spin on my work notebook in an Active directory environment as we are looking to change solutions, and I am miffed at how to get this thing to update. It cannot find the update servers, ever.... weird. Anyone else have issues updating. I did look into the Sonicwall and see nothing but normal update traffic?
     
  12. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,894
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have run this app on several computers with different OS's and never had a problem with it updating.
    bigc
     
  13. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Lastnight I tried it on a fresh Windows 7 install at home(dual booting ofc) and it took forever to update, around 15 minutes, but finally did finish. So I do believe it is just taking to long to update and is getting killed. No way I can ever remotely try to support something like that. To much work.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.