Former Opera CEO Launches Vivaldi, A New Browser For Power Users

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Jan 27, 2015.

  1. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,090
    Location:
    USA
    I recently noticed that the new tab button has moved to the right and is now next to the synced tabs icon, deleted tabs icon, etc. I used to have it on the right side of the last open tab. I seem to remember this could be configured, but I can't find a setting for it now. I'm using Vivaldi 3.7.2218.58. TIA
     
  2. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,629
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Can you perhaps post a screenshot? AFAIK, it has indeed always been in the same position and I don't think it can be moved? So I have no idea what happened on your system.
     
  3. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,516
    Location:
    UK
    I am using that version too but my 'open new tab button' (the cross) is where it has always been, on the right-hand side of the last open tab.
    Did you do anything such as this in the past?

    https://forum.vivaldi.net/topic/37141/how-to-change-the-placement-of-new-tab-button

    Perhaps under Settings/Appearance and scroll down to Restore Default Menu might put it back? I don't know.
     
  4. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,090
    Location:
    USA
  5. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,629
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    BTW, I have been able to install Vivaldi 3.7 on my Win 8.1 system, it seems to have been a hardware issue. All of a sudden I could not start Process Exlorere anymore so I new something was wrong with my SSD, after restart, Windows itself scanned the disk and corrected the drive errors and all of a sudden I also got 20GB of extra space on my SSD. So good to know that it's sometimes caused by driver errors.

    It's best to ask on the Vivaldi forum.
     
  6. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,600
  7. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,600
  8. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,516
    Location:
    UK
    Has anyone noticed a Floc folder in C/Users/Name/Appdata/Local/Vivaldi/UserData?
     
  9. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,792
    Vivaldi 3.8.2259.37

    Vivaldi crumbles cookie dialogs, raises the bar on privacy and design

    The new version Vivaldi 3.8 offers relief from annoying cookie dialogs and Google’s FLoC, an invasive privacy technology. Rebuilds its Panels and adds quick bookmarking options.
    April 29, 2021
    https://vivaldi.com/blog/vivaldi-crumbles-cookie-dialogs-raises-privacy/

    ----------------
    Vivaldi 3.8 takes care of annoying cookie dialogs for you
    https://www.ghacks.net/2021/04/29/vivaldi-3-8-takes-care-of-annoying-cookie-dialogs-for-you/
     
  10. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,516
    Location:
    UK
    Looks like the Floc folder I mentioned above will be auto deleted.
     
  11. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    878
    Location:
    usa
    New Vivaldi talks about PRIVACY and GOOGLE issues, and recommends the following:
    Vivaldi.JPG
     
  12. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,629
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Interesting, but doesn't uBlock already take care of this? But still a good idea, because those cookie warning are truly retarded. Also, why on earth didn't they offer a "one click" bookmarking option like I requested years ago, it's this stuff that I don't like about the development team.
     
  13. swami

    swami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Posts:
    203
    "Also, why on earth didn't they offer a "one click" bookmarking option like I requested years ago".
    They just did. It used to be much better.
     
  14. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,629
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    From what I understood you will have to use the keyboard for this. I just want to be able to click a bookmarking button without having to see the menu where you need to click on the "save" button. Is this possible or not?
     
  15. swami

    swami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Posts:
    203
    You don't have to click the "save", but you have to click somewhere. So ctrl+d with no clicking.
    Now it saves it here with ctrl+d and don't remember the last folder I used.
    https://i.imgur.com/i1kkilt.jpg
     
  16. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,600
  17. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,629
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I have downloaded Vivaldi 3.8 and I now see what you mean. But that's still not what I wanted, because you still have to click a second time, so it's pretty pointless! They should simply make 2 buttons, one for bookmarking without even seeing the menu and one which works like the old one. Come one man, this really isn't that hard, how does the development team can't get this right?
     
  18. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,792
  19. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,629
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  20. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,090
    Location:
    USA
    Is there a way to change tab color? I use the Dark theme and find there's not much contrast between the active tab and inactive tabs. I'd like the active tab to stand out more. TIA

    By the way, the main reason I use Vivaldi is it prevents the white flashing that happens in Edge. There's a lot I like about Edge but I use dark mode and can't deal with the constant flashing.
     
  21. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,792
    Vivaldi 4.0.2312.24

    Vivaldi 4.0 introduces translate feature and Mail, Calendar and Feed Reader functionality
    June 09, 2021
    https://www.ghacks.net/2021/06/09/v...-mail-calendar-and-feed-reader-functionality/
    -----------------
    Vivaldi 4.0: Vivaldi Translate and betas of Vivaldi Mail, Calendar and Feed Reader are here
    https://vivaldi.com/blog/vivaldi-4-0/

    Changelog:
    https://vivaldi.com/changelog-vivaldi-browser-4-0/
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2021
  22. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,090
    Location:
    USA
    I did a manual check for updates and installed v4. Vivaldi 3.X was already feature rich and v4 adds even more options. I haven't tried the mail beta or calendar beta. Version 4 works fine so far, though it didn't fix a bug that started in v3 for me, ie a weird problem on Facebook where clicking drop-down menus would open new tabs. I've started using a different browser just for Facebook to get around the problem.
     
  23. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,598
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Managed to install 4.0.2312.24 (Stable channel) (x86_64) on my iMac.

    V4.jpg

    Next will be on Ubuntu. So far everything seems fine on macOS.
     
  24. longshots

    longshots Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Posts:
    336
    Location:
    Australia
    I certainly hope so, because [hopefully] it will then be available on Mint and won't require a manual install. I have been using Vivaldi since it first became available and would never voluntarily go back to using something else, and I'm still not sure why there is such paranoia about Vivaldi being included in the Software Manager?
     
  25. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,598
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It usually gets included with Ubuntu updates. I honestly don't know about any paranoia. Opera is included in the Manager. I don't use it myself.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2021
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.