Former Opera CEO Launches Vivaldi, A New Browser For Power Users

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Jan 27, 2015.

  1. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
    if you select install for current user -> installs in appdata
    if you select install for all users -> installs in program files
     
  2. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,366
    As seen on their webpage, their resources (human as well as financial) are quite limited (yet). Notwithstanding they have brave aims, so the question is how it will go in future. Anyhow this technical preview shows that the potential is there and that it has a very decent basis on which they can build further. I wish them all the best in meeting their goals and maybe one day I will skip on Vivaldi. :)
     
  3. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,965
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    That is indeed an option, but Opera Blink also has its own system, and there is a lot of crap in the Google store.

    I think all browsers should stop with this auto-updating nonsense, problem solved.

    OK thanks, must have missed that.
     
  4. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i kind of like it. it needs A LOT of work still for it to be used as a main browser (i know its an early test version) but i think they have the right ideas and if they dont follow everyone else maybe they can lead and make a new killer browser (crossing fingers)
     
  5. Yuki2718

    Yuki2718 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,682
    Largely due to its sandbox.
     
  6. chachazz

    chachazz Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Posts:
    841
    Vivaldi browser Technical Preview

    Vivaldi Blog - Thank you
    by jon - 30 Jan
     
  7. chachazz

    chachazz Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Posts:
    841
    BTW, with no auto-updater currently, weekly technical preview releases can be installed overtop.
     
  8. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,965
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Seriously? I didn't know that, but I hate it. BTW, I made a mistake, install size is about 300MB, I had 100 MB of files in my cache.
     
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,965
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    BTW, a bit off topic, but can you guys check if you can play this Flash animation within Vivaldi? You should be able to click on some of the buildings, and it should take you to one of the apartments. For me it also didn't work in Opera 12 and Firefox, but it did work in Chrome, I don't get it.

    http://www.hollandpark.nl/nl/woningen/
     
  10. Yuki2718

    Yuki2718 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,682
    Yup, it's a dilemma. Tho sandbox significantly reduces attack surface, then sandbox itself can be another attack surface. But I also don't like my disk being wasted. Cheep SSD don't have much space and as you know, on SSD less free space = less performance. Furthermore, more space used causes more backup/restore time which is a bit of matter for me who do these tasks often.
     
  11. chachazz

    chachazz Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Posts:
    841
  12. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,965
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK, I will try it, let's see if some of the bugs have been fixed, and if some of my feature requests have been added. Yes, perhaps they haven't been reading this thread, but it's still an indication to me, how "sharp" the developers are. :D
     
  13. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    12,343
    Location:
    UK
    Installed it in Sandboxie.

    Works okay so far (see sbie icon in taskbar and also sandboxed browser sign beside start button)
    vivaldi.JPG
     
  14. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,620
  15. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,290
    Where is the Adblocker in Vivaldi? o_O
     
  16. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,965
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It's the same as in Chrome, it will let you control certain things. And there are no ini files.

    It's in the statusbar.
     
  17. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,965
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I have to say that I'm a bit disappointed with the new version. Most of the stuff has not been fixed or added. Let's hope that it won't take months to get it on a certain level.
     
  18. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,986
    Location:
    California
    What things? Is it similar to Opera:

    opera_sitePref.jpg

    Does this mean that configuration settings are stored in the Registry?

    thanks,

    ----
    rich
     
  19. Yuki2718

    Yuki2718 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,682
  20. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,366
    And what? Otter might be good unless Vivaldi wasn't launched. It's obvious that the Vivaldi team is larger and dispose with far more resources than Otter. On top of that Jon, as the brain of former Opera, knows what to do to get Vivaldi on top. Moreover he's got lured other former Opera workers to work on this project. So if I should bet, Vivaldi has brighter future, imo.
     
  21. chachazz

    chachazz Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Posts:
    841
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 9, 2015
  22. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,965
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I've checked it out, and it's quite crappy. Perhaps I'm a bit harsh but I'm getting tired of these browsers that are simply not good enough.
     
  23. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,965
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    To clarify, Vivaldi is nothing else but a Chrome clone, have you ever used that? Chrome and Vivaldi will let you control some stuff, as seen in the screenshot. I suggest you run Vivaldi via Sandboxie, then you can see for yourself. And I'm not sure if settings are stored in the registry.
     

    Attached Files:

    • GC.png
      GC.png
      File size:
      51.4 KB
      Views:
      21
  24. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,208
    Too true.
    I have tried a lot of pretenders with big claims, but I'm still using Firefox.
     
  25. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,986
    Location:
    California
    No.
    Thanks, but I'll pass on that (I don't use Sandbox)
    If there are no .ini files, then settings are stored in the Registry. You can easily check at

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software

    ----
    rich
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.