Former Opera CEO Launches Vivaldi, A New Browser For Power Users

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Jan 27, 2015.

  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,578
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'm not really sure, but it does seem to connect to Google upon startup (see screenshot), even when it's configured not to do so. I will ask about this on the Vivaldi forum, I first need to sign up.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    107,227
    Location:
    Texas
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    107,227
    Location:
    Texas
    https://vivaldi.net/en-US/teamblog/...installing-to-non-standard-locations-on-linux



    https://vivaldi.net/en-US/teamblog/80-alternative-install-options-for-vivaldi-on-linux
     
  5. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
  6. chachazz

    chachazz Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Posts:
    841
    Snapshot 1.0.377.10 - Three days work and twenty two more fixes
     
  7. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,725
    Is there a setting to change the new tab page to a page of my own choice?

    Also.
    I have switched to the Horizontal Menu, but when I run my mouse over it, the menus don't open until I click on each and every one.
     
  8. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
    Not yet. You can only change your homepage and your startup page.
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,725
    OK. Thanks for your reply, wasgij6. :thumb:
     
  10. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    107,227
    Location:
    Texas
    https://vivaldi.net/en-US/teamblog/...-changes-to-tab-opening-and-closing-behaviour
     
  12. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
    https://vivaldi.net/en-US/teamblog/...-time-in-iceland-death-toll-on-bugs-increases
     
  13. phalanaxus

    phalanaxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Posts:
    509
  14. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
  15. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
    https://vivaldi.net/en-US/teamblog/...l&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer
     
  16. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
  17. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
    https://vivaldi.net/en-US/teamblog/...n-load-save-tab-zoom-and-a-lot-of-new-options
     
  18. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,456
    Location:
    Outer space
  19. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
    https://vivaldi.net/en-US/teamblog/...ing-on-individual-requirements-not-statistics
     
  20. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,578
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I have checked out the latest version, and my biggest disappointment is the bookmarking and tab saving options. It needs to become more like in Opera. I will soon sign up on the Vivaldi forum to give some feedback.

    It's still not clear to me if other browsers that use Chromium also feature the sandbox?
     
  21. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
    Give it time they are still adding a lot of features and improving everything. They are making great progress IMO
     
  22. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,456
    Location:
    Outer space
    Still no fix for the vulnerability in the latest snapshot.

    Not all afaik. You can check the Integrity Levels with Process Explorer. There should be one parent process with medium integrity, and multiple child processes with low/untrusted integrity.
     
  23. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    107,227
    Location:
    Texas
  24. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,578
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes, they have come a long way. Hopefully they will implement a better bookmark manager.

    OK I see, then I guess Opera and Vivaldi don't offer the sandbox, but I will check again. I wonder if it's hard to implement though. On the other hand, I prefer to use a third party sandbox like Sandboxie, so perhaps it's a good thing.
     
  25. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,456
    Location:
    Outer space
    Huh? They're both showing fine here.
    Note that integrity levels are only on Win Vista and higher.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.