format required before loading NOD

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by hasit, Jul 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hasit

    hasit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    44
    hello,

    i have to install NOD in a location having about 300 computers, do i need to format all the 300 computers and load OS again and NOD? please advice.

    also, is formatting required beforing NOD? please advice.

    I know there are about 10,000 of virus in the entire network, do you think NOD would be stable after just loading NOD on all machines.

    also, what is the best antivirus application that you recommend? I guess NOD is not taking care of 1000% security, still firewall is required, correct? Please advice.

    thanks, Hasit
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi hasit, welcome to Wilders.

    A format is not likely to be required for each machine.

    What was your previous antivirus solution?

    Cheers :D
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2006
  3. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    What do you mean ?
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I think they mean that their network is thoroughly infected and this person has been given the job of installing a good antivirus, cleaning and securing their network.

    Cheers :D
     
  5. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Yikes...300 infested machines...that should be a bear of a project.
    "Good Luck" on your project there.
     
  6. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    If really 10 000 , I would suggest that formatting and reinstalling Windows will take him less time than cleaning , no matter what product he use

    Ah , yes , Good luck! :)
     
  7. hasit

    hasit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    44
    before installing NOD, do i need to format the computer and load OS and all softwares again?

    also, should i format from base/MBR? or just remove OS?

     
  8. hasit

    hasit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    44
    very true, any other comments/suggestion?

    please adivce.

     
  9. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    As I said in my post above , it depends on you . If the computers are so infected 10 000 , it would be better to reinstall Windows with full format and then do what you (including installing NOD32)
    It will take you less time than sitting at every machine and try to clean it :D

    Good luck
     
  10. hasit

    hasit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    44
    do i have to really remove each virus? can't NOD do it automatically, i can configure NOD to remove virus automatically. Can't that work?

     
  11. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    759
    Just curious to find out how do you discover that the entire network is infected with about 10,000 viruses? Via scanner or your existing antivirus system?

    What sort of viruses you are talking? Care to share?
     
  12. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Hasit,

    I suggest installing NOD32 on one computer without reformatting, then have NOD32 scan and clean the computer, removing the viruses automatically. See how it goes on the test computer before you make a decision for the entire network of 300.

    Were there any old antivirus programs on the computers? If so, which ones? You may want to remove those (and reboot) before installing NOD32.
     
  13. hasit

    hasit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    44
    there are no old antivirus applications on the server, maybe on few of the computers.

    tell me one thing, if i have one computer with NOD and other not with NOD, is there a way in which the computer in which NOD in installed will remain uncleaned? dont you think any network based worm/virus will spread the virus in all the computers again? even if NOD is installed as it is not a firewall.

    Please advice!

     
  14. hasit

    hasit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    44
    i did install a tool which can tell me what are the virus on the computer, that way i founds LOTS of virus.

    i am talking of network based virus that kills winxp. any suggestions?

     
  15. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Suppose you have two computers, NOD32_computer and Virus_computer. If a worm/virus tries to spread from Virus_computer to NOD32_computer, the AMON module of NOD32 will catch the worm/virus as it gets created on NOD32_computer and clean it automatically, before it gets a chance to do anything. This should stop NOD32_computer from becoming reinfected.
     
  16. hasit

    hasit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    44
    sounds good to me. Administrator, i.e.Blackspear ... can you confirm this to me?
     
  17. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Confirmed :blink: ;) :D

    Do as alglove suggested and try NOD32 cleaning a single machine first, and then try a few more machines before tackling the whole network.

    Cheers :D
     
  18. hasit

    hasit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    44
    i still doubt that once i clean one machine and go on to next it will corrupt the last one as they both are in the same network.

    anyone have EVER experienced this?
     
  19. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    As you then have a "Clean" machine protected by NOD32 the machine will remain clean.

    Cheers :D
     
  20. hasit

    hasit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    44
    sounds good to me, thanks!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.