Format and Imaging Help

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by sbryans605, Jul 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sbryans605

    sbryans605 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Hi,

    I created an image of my hard drive which contains 6 partitions using Acroniis True Image.

    I have two .tib files, DVD sized. I also created an ISO of the Acronis True Image Bootable CD and burned it to a CD.

    Can I burn the .tib files onto 2 DVDs and leave them in that format ?

    When I put in the Acronis True Image Bootable CD, will it ask me for the 2 DVDs? Will it format the HDD fully and create the partitions again and re-install the data/programs/windows?

    Thanks,
    Stephen
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2007
  2. sbryans605

    sbryans605 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Anyone?

    Thanks,
    Stephen
     
  3. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Format & Imaging help:
    When doing a restore, ATI will simply ask you to point it where the tib files are stored. This can be on a DVD or on a drive--your choice. You can simulate this procedure by beginning the first part of a restore--all the way up to the Proceed screen. Do not press Proceed.

    There have been posters which have reported difficulty in performing your intented restore from DVD. You would have better success if you were to store these on a an External and to do a test restore onto a test hard drive. I would hate to see you mess up your only drive.

    Hopefully, your backup was of the full disk (all partitions) type.

    If you are restoring to a new disk, then you will need a full disk restore.
    If you are restoring only one or two partitions, this is also possible from a full disk backup.
     
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello sbryans605,

    Yes. Assuming each .tib file is greater than 2GB, you'll need to burn each of them as a DVD-ROM (UDF) data compilation.

    Yes. Insert the DVD containing the last volume (i.e. the last .tib file) first and then follow TI's prompts for subsequent disk changes. IMPORTANT!! - Before carrying out a restore, boot from the Acronis rescue CD and validate the image via TI's Backup Archive Validation Wizard (again, you'll need to insert the last volume first and follow the prompts). Partway through a restore is not the time to find out that the image is corrupt. :ouch:

    Yes, assuming you imaged the whole drive (i.e. all partitions).

    Regards

    Menorcaman
     
  5. sbryans605

    sbryans605 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Thanks for your replies :)

    I can get an external HDD. Will it boot from that if I follow the tutorial I saw somewhere on how to do this?

    Also, 4 of the partitions are empty. Do I need to back these up as well to avoid it restoring and having unpartitioned space?

    Thanks,
    Stephen
     
  6. jaycee

    jaycee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Posts:
    186
    Hi,

    Hard disk can be bootable no worries.

    For your partitions, you should restore whole disk geometry, else you could face problems booting;

    You should restore using the full disk restore case.

    Jaycee
     
  7. sbryans605

    sbryans605 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Hi,

    Is there any tutorials on how to do this

    Thanks,
    Stephen
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    You can go through Grover's guides (see the links in his signature in post #3) and also my guide (see link below) for ceating a bootable USB hard drive with the Acronis media on it.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello sbryans605,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    In addition to what other members said, you can find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis True Image in the respective User's Guide.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.