Force reinstall parameter

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by JustinTD, Aug 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JustinTD

    JustinTD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Posts:
    30
    A while back an ESET rep emailed me a parameter you can add to the command line portion of the client package creation window in ESET BE NOD32 that would force a reinstall of the client package regardless of it being previously installed, does ayone have that setting? I lost it.
     
  2. ThomasC

    ThomasC Former ESET Support Rep

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Posts:
    209
    You may be refering to the switch offiered at the end of this thread.
     
  3. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    Perfect, I've been looking for that too :) Many thanks!
     
  4. ThomasC

    ThomasC Former ESET Support Rep

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Posts:
    209
    Always glad to be of assistance! :)
     
  5. JustinTD

    JustinTD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Posts:
    30
    No, that didn't work for me. The error from the ERAS states the client already has the package even though they do not. I need to have the server ignore the "already installed" check

    Exact error from debug log --
    " <RINSTALL_WARNING> SayHello: command agent ('xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx') has already instaled packege (Name: NOD32 Win x86-x64 - LAN Config (Force), Type: 2) on this computer, agent stopped (1)"
     
  6. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2011
  7. ThomasC

    ThomasC Former ESET Support Rep

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Posts:
    209
    Another option would be to follow the instructions here to completly remove any remnants of ESET on that machine. If there are remnants such as, the hidden ehdrv driver, this may cause a forced installation to be less than optimal.
     
  8. JustinTD

    JustinTD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Posts:
    30
    Actually, ESET support turned me on to the fix. The problem is a failed install task was present on the ERAS. The client was going up to get the installer and the ERAS was under the impression it was installed already. I deleted the finished installer tasks, tried again, and it worked great!
     
  9. ThomasC

    ThomasC Former ESET Support Rep

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Posts:
    209
    Good to hear! Glad you were able to get the issue resolved.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.