? for those running BD Antivirus 2013 plus

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by country2, Feb 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    I have tried too use BD 2013 AV plus and have noticed that my internet speed when checked at any off the speed test sites (I mainly used speedtest.net) and notice my speed spikes and drops low to high never flat and stable. Now speed wise it does average out right but wondering why this happens

    When BD removed all is good. Even with only thing turned on is realtime AV protection on BD this happens..anyone else?

    This is the only AV that I have this issue. Right now I have it removed from system (w8 64 bit) and using WSA. I also tried the fee version but this also happens probably will keep WSA but would like to see if its just my system or someone else noticing this
     
  2. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    I had this problem when I was using Bitdefender Internet Security which is why I asked for a downgrade to the Antivirus alone and no more internet spikes or slow downs.

    must be something else,

    ensure you have the optimal DNS settings using this tool:

    DNS Bench - Find the fastest DNS Server
     
  3. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Already checked DNSs and using Verizon as that's the fastest for me. Issue is BD.

    I have even in the past removed all protection except for BD and it happens remove BD and its solved.
     
  4. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    but how can BD be the issue if you aren't running the Internet Security Suite which has no Firewall?
     
  5. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Don't know, but was happening with no firewall just BD AV remove BD AV and all is good. I have read other people having the dsl speed "shark fins" issue with not only the suite but some with just the AV. I thought it may of been a http or ssl scan but even with that turned off it still happens

    I may reinstall it and do a few more tests as its been a couple of months since last time ..maybe there was a fix in one of the updates.
     
  6. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    520
    Antivirus plus scans web traffic before they reach the user. You may be using flash based speed test. Bitdefender scans the entire flash content before it is delivered to you. This may be the cause for weird speed results. In fact it might download the entire flash content in the background though you have stopped watching a video midway. It is a recurring problem. They will fix it but after sometime it may happen again.

    See this thread in bitdefender forum:

    -http://forum.bitdefender.com/index.php?showtopic=40908-
     
  7. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Makes since but would turning off the http scan solve this?

    EDIT... Just installed BD2013 plus AV and turned off http scan and basically everything else except real time protection and issue still there...oh well removed it and back to WSA.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2013
  8. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Wish I saw your message before you posted this.

    I tried this and surprisingly it made my surfing faster.

    Control Panel, Internet Options, Connections, LAN Settings,

    tick the box which says Automatically Detect Settings

    Reboot your router by switching the power off for 30 seconds then reconnecting it, then reboot your computer
     
  9. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Mine was already checked on auto detect settings
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.