FlashCookieCleaner v2.0

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by Dermot7, May 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.

    Attached Files:

    • FCCa.PNG
      FCCa.PNG
      File size:
      201.1 KB
      Views:
      450
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    Looks like CCleaner. But this tool is pointless since flash 10.3.
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  4. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Thank you funkydude and Triple Helix, yes I know about the new native control panel/settings manager in Flash 10.3, thanks, it's just that mine does not seem
    to retain the settings I apply, but I'm probably doing something wrong or misunderstanding in some way. Is it necessary to allow a cookie from Adobe
    in order to maintain settings, for example? I suspect that's where I'm going wrong? Thanks again for your replies. :)
     
  5. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    I'm not sure about Flash settings as I haven't looked at them. But I've set my browser to block 3rd party cookies and clear cookies on exit, so flash cookies are removed when my browser closes.
     
  6. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    My browser is also set in this way, but it doesn't seem to block flash cookies.
     
  7. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    It's not meant to "block" cookies, that would break functionality. But remove them when you're done, in a similar fashion to normal cookies.
     
  8. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Sorry funkydude, I know what you mean, I should have said remove, and realised as soon as I posted! :D Of course cookies must be allowed in many
    instances for functionality. No worries anyway as I know my computers are
    clean and cookie-free. Thanks.
     
  9. jack90125

    jack90125 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    sorry to break it to you but you can prevent them being written to disk and still have functionality.
    I put the folders in protected file in commodo and deny access to plugin or whatever browser you are using and no flash cookies.
    also the control panel in the latest does not work it gets reset to allow all right after you set it to deny all.
    adobe should face criminal charges for all their crap.
     
  10. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Thank you jack90125, but I don't know how to do what you recommend.
    Thought I'd overcome the issue with losing settings by adding settings.sol to
    ignore list, but this didn't work, and today settings have returned to the default ones, which I don't want. Seems like it's impossible to control the settings ultimately?
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.