Flash Player updated !

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by abu shofwan, Oct 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
  2. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I've just been checking the flash out on IE 9 64 bit. I'm quite impressed, now if only IE 9 had some decent extensions/add-ons ....

    Better still ... when is Firefox 64 bit going to appear?
     
  3. datarishik

    datarishik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Posts:
    182
    Got it, thank you.
     
  4. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Hell yeah! 64bit browsing starts here. :cool:
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Te only 64bit browser I have atm is internet explorer 9. I hope opera have a 64 bit browser soon.
     
  6. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
    already,didn't it ? FF Nightly not tested :D or you can give waterfox
    or pale moona try. Enjoy..:D
    forgot this one ,Flash Uninstaller
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2011
  7. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Is 11 officially out? I heard that it was an RTM.
     
  8. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK thanks for the info.
     
  9. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Hopefully FF pushes a 64bit release soon, then the rest follow and the world can slowly move on.
     
  10. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    IE 9 64 bit & Yahoo! Mail:

    You're almost there...

    The newest version of Yahoo! Mail works best on modern browsers. While you can still access basic email functionality like reading and sending email, to access other features like Yahoo! Messenger, photo slideshows, and the reply bar, you'll need to upgrade your browser.

    Upgrading is free and it only takes a few moments:

    Firefox
    Internet Explorer (for Windows)
    Safari
    Not ready to upgrade? Continue anyway
    o_O

    It works if you continue anyway! :cool:
     
  11. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Heh. This is a classic case of websites using browser detection instead of feature detection. It probably hasn't been updated to recognize that IE9 exists yet and gives that error on any "unrecognized" browser.
     
  12. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yeah, Yahoo! just aren't in the fast lane of the information superhighway any more are they? :D
     
  13. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,115
    Thanks for the update! :thumb:
     
  14. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
  15. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Blah, I really hate to switch tracks on this thread, but am I recalling right that IE9 64 doesn't have Protected Mode? I have Sandboxie Free, so I guess it doesn't matter, just curious. I'm glad Flash 64 is here, and I'll be equally glad when all browser vendors bring out 64 bit versions.

    @Daveski: Yahoo needs to worry about getting and keeping money right now rather than spending it to upgrade things :D
     
  16. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    You're remembering wrong, it does have protected mode. What it doesn't have is Chakra, the name of the JavaScript engine in 32bit IE9. But if you don't care about a few milliseconds of speed, you can use IE9 x64 which is more secure than using the 32bit version.
     
  17. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Hell no I don't care about a few milliseconds of speed :D Thanks for correcting me, Funky :thumb:
     
  18. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Does this contain any vulnerability fixes or perhaps new general security improvements?
     
  19. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/919/cpsid_91932.html nothing really major if you were thinking of a sandbox or something like they did with reader, maybe with v12. :D
     
  20. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I tried to download this version like 5 times now, using a direct link, and I'm getting version number 10.3.183 everytime... o_O

    -edit-

    I finally got to download a version 11 exe, but it appears to be a download manager. It's a 736 KB exe.

    The link is: -http://aihdownload.adobe.com/bin/install_flashplayer11x32_mssd_aih.exe
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2011
  21. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
  22. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Testing it out now under IE9, and it freezes a lot. Of course the 32 bit version has done this under IE9 as well for me, I don't know why that is. Firefox, Chrome, Opera, they all handle Flash relatively well. Flash aside, I forgot just how blazing fast 64 bit browsing is.
     
  23. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    64bit Flash = 64bit ASLR. That's about it.
     
  24. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Believe it on not one of the things that can help on lower end systems is the use of Fanboy's TPLs to stop all the extra "stuff" from loading. (no idea what your system is like) If not I'd double check you don't have some other misc addons loaded.
     
  25. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    I'm using the TPLs, actually. My processor is an i3 at 2.93Ghz and my video card is an ATI HD 5570. I've got 6Gb of RAM as well. I guess that might be "low end" now, but surely it can handle Flash? :D As far as add-ons, only Flash, Windows Media Player and XML DOM Document are there, Flash being the only one currently loaded. I've done the standard cache cleaning and all that, and it just doesn't help. It's just running very poorly and I don't feel like refreshing the page every 30 seconds because Flash stopped. Like I said, I had this trouble some in IE9 32 as well, though admittedly not as much as 64 is giving me.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.