FirstDefense-ISR Rescue & MFT

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by mantra, Feb 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,148
    Hi
    i have a question
    can firstdefense restore MFT , in case of corrupted MFT can first defense fix it?


    thanks
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Maybe Todd will step in, but I don't think so. It uses the MFT to store some info.

    Best bet would be wipe the disk, and restore an image(assuming you have one)

    Pete
     
  3. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    I am almost positive that FirstDefense cannot restore the MFT.

    Acadia
     
  4. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,565
    FirstDefence-ISR cannot restore the mft table.


    ps. I am positive because I have seen and replicated mft corruption with FS-ISR workstation (at least version 3.20.202 had this flaw).
    Steps for reproducing it:
    1. install Vista
    2. install FD-ISR workstation
    3. import an archive XP snapshot
    4. Boot to the XP snapshot
    5. Eliminate the Vista snapshot
    6. Reboot the pc
    7. Result = unknown ntfs partition. :D

    Panagiotis
     
  5. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,148
    what can i use to same me with the mft?

    well i can' make a full image every week
    i hope somebody thought how to fix the mft!
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Why can't you image weekly, less time, then you've spent hunting for a repair.

    Try googling "Repair MFT" You'll find plenty of ideas

    Pete
     
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,148
    yes
    but is there a software like firstdefense that can fix mft?
     
  8. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Try TestDisk here

    Parted Magic also contains TestDisk,plus more

    here


    edit;Try chkdsk first.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2008
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I hope it,s not OT. Does imaging only the system partition backups MFT as well or not( I mean this image can be used to restore corrupted MFT)?

    Thanks
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Not positive Aigle, but I don't think so. But you can wipe the disk, and then restore the image, and thus fix it.

    Pete
     
  11. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks.
     
  12. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,148
    yes thanks to all
    but i'm first question is is there a program that let me to backup mft only like a snaphots
     
  13. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,565
    Hi Mantra,

    maybe you are a bit confused with MFT. MFT (Master file table) is only the index of the number, locations and sizes of the files residing in an ntfs partition.

    There is no meaning in backing-up only the MFT...
    If you restore only the MFT from another parttion (or from the same partition but made in an earlier time), it will lead 100% in an corrupted partition since the number of files, their sizes and the places where they reside are different from the information contained in the MFT backup. ;)

    Panagiotis
     
  14. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,148
    thanks i got it
    but i know i could be often screw on
    no tools are able to correct them
     
  15. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    That is what imaging is for. Then you are saving the right information. You are worrying about the wrong thing, and not doing what you need to do.
     
  16. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Try chkdsk.
     
  17. Leapfrog Software

    Leapfrog Software Leapfrog Management

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    251
    Location:
    Northern Nevada, USA
    Greetings,

    Sorry to have pinged in so late in the game. You are correct that we do not protect the MFT from corruption. Our technology works on top of the MFT at a file level vs. cluster level and the snapshots share the same NFTS partition structure. So we use NTFS and its MFT as our backbone.

    If you have a corrupted MFT, I would look into the intrinsic CHKDSK command, as mentioned in the previous post.

    Keep us posted.
     
  18. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,148
    yes thanks but chkdsk can correct only easy errors , nothing else
     
  19. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Did you try TestDisk as I suggested days ago?
     
  20. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,148
    well right my computer work , so no problem!
    outside testdisk should be run in a boot disk

    but 3 or 4 time i get this problem
    and i want to avoid in the future
    at last know what could i do ?
    to be ready

    that's a topic in neowin forum
    http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=450737
     
  21. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Windows keeps a mirror copy of the MFT and your only chance would be for TestDisk to locate it,if chkdsk doent work.
    But as Peter said, just restore an image!
     
  22. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Run chkdsk from the recovery console.
     
  23. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,148

    thanks to all
    did u experience something like this
     
  24. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Sounds like a serious Windows/filesystem corruption. A faulty HDD might be the cause.
     
  25. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,148
    yes
    this happen with 3 hardisk new and every hd were perfected
    after a format , they work great
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.