FirstDefense: Can I use this?

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Nevermore, Dec 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nevermore

    Nevermore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Pinehurst, Texas
    I was reading about this software and all of its features, including system requirements, and I noticed it doesn't support Fat32 file system.

    I have a new computer. It has two drives, C & D. Drive C is a NTFS file system. However, Drive D is a Fat32 file system. Would this effect my computer's ability to work with FirstDefenseo_O?
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2006
  2. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    You would not have any problem, FD-ISR can only be installed in the C: partition and that filesystem is NTFS.
    It doesn't matter what other partitions you have and how these are formatted.

    Disk space on C: could be more of a concern: each snapshot takes the space of a complete Windows installation.
     
  3. Nevermore

    Nevermore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Pinehurst, Texas
    Is that disk space used permanently, or temporarily then deleted? I have a lot of disk space right now; however, that will change as time goes buy and money comes in.

    Also, how much RAM does it take. I was on leapfrogsoftware.com and the website doesn't give a direct answer to that question. It suggest it could take up to 4Gigs of RAM.
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,048
    Hi Nevermore

    No way do you need 4gig of RAM. EVen 1Gig works nicely.

    Any reason you can't reformat the D: drive to NTFS. That way you wouldn't have size limitations and the archive feature of FDISR would really prove valuable to you.

    Pete
     
  5. vhick

    vhick Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Posts:
    224
    Location:
    Noypi.........
    i have 512mb of ram and fd-isr work nicely i my machine....;)
     
  6. King FN Kong

    King FN Kong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    i use it on one with 384. :D copy/create/update snapshots will take longer of course. but with the running service? you wont feel a thing at all. :thumb:
     
  7. Nevermore

    Nevermore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Pinehurst, Texas
    Peter2150,

    I don't know enough about computers to access the D: drive. I am not sure but I think it is used as a backup disk.

    Meanwhile, I have 1gig of RAM. So, from what all of you are saying I should have no problems using the program on my computer.

    These snapshots you all are talking about; are they suppose to stay on my computer permanently, or just long enough to do the job and then delete them?
     
  8. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    You can go upto maximum 10 bootable snapshots.
    You can archive bootable snapshots as many as you want.

    The standard method is using a minimum of TWO snapshots :
    1. The primary snapshot = working snapshot
    2. The secondary snapshot = rollback snapshot, in case something goes wrong in your primary snapshot.

    All other snapshots, 8 in total, are free to use according your needs.
    Each snapshot is INDEPENDENT and can be deleted, renamed, archived, copied, ... at anytime.
    Archived snapshots can be restored at anytime.

    Snapshots can be used for different purposes :
    - testing new softwares
    - testing beta softwares
    - creating different work environments for specific needs
    - etc. etc. etc. whatever comes to your mind

    Each time when a software causes problems in your primary snapshot, you can reboot in your secondary snapshot and refresh your primary snapshot with your secondary snapshot and your primary snapshot will be back to normal.

    After awhile you will become an experienced user and then you can do whatever you want with FDISR.
    There are only technical rules in FDISR, the rest depends on how much fantasy you have.

    Start with two snapshots, more sophisticated usage of FDISR comes later. You can't learn FDISR in just one day. :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.