First time user

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by squid13, Jan 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. squid13

    squid13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Cantonment, FL
    I know you copy/update to update the rescue to the original. How do you update the original or is it your regular system and any changes you make to it, is it. Also when you update the rescue is it advisable to exit programs like WinPatrol,Counterspy and shut down your anti-virus? I must say this is a fantastic program.
     
  2. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Your original snapshot doesn't need updating, whatever you change stays changed. I don't bother exiting programs before i copy/update a snapshot, however i might disable any resident scanners to speed up the process
     
  3. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    squid13,
    Keep also in mind that when you copy/update from the original snapshot to the rescue snapshot, that your original snapshot doesn't contain any malware, otherwise your rescue snapshot will be infected also. :)
     
  4. squid13

    squid13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Cantonment, FL
    Thank you for your response. I'm using XP Home SP2 and where are the files kept for the rescue snapshot? What file extension does FDISR have so when I do a registry clean I know what to look for and stay away from? It says you can make up to 10 snapshots, how do you do that? I also notice that FDISR is not listed in the program files. Sorry for so many questions but I read the help section and didn't find what I was looking for.
     
  5. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I'm confused, you are talking about rescue and now you ask how to create 10 snapshots.
    Which FDISR are you using and which manual of which FDISR are you reading ?
     
  6. squid13

    squid13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Cantonment, FL
    Sorry about that, I was reading a Raxco First defense on line and it didn't pertain to the one I'm using which I downloaded from Horizon Data Sys. I guess the one I'm using you have just one snapshot , is that right?
     
  7. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    That should be "FirstDefense-ISR Rescue" and it has only one work snapshot and one rescue snapshot, but no 10 snapshots, no archives, no freeze storage. In the future, you better mention which FDISR you are using, because you might get the wrong advice. :)

    EDIT:
    Did you try to install a software that requires a reboot during installation, because this should be possible ?
    Most similar ISR-softwares can't handle this.
     
  8. squid13

    squid13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Cantonment, FL
    When I was looking for a trial software the only one I could find was from Horizon Data. I didn't see anywhere on the Raxco website for downloading FdISR. Is there any other place to try another makers, or is Horizon Data the only one on the market now?
     
  9. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Horizon Datasys is the only one, who sells FDISR Rescue, you can't buy FDISR Workstation anymore, it's terminated forever.
    Raxco stopped reselling FDISR Workstation, much sooner, that's why HDS became the reseller.
    Roxio has BackOnTrack Suite, but this is more a beta version than a final version.
     
  10. squid13

    squid13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Cantonment, FL
    The Horizon data version that I have will work OK for me cause I intend to use it for recovery purposes only. Do you happen to know what file extension it uses so I can pay attention when I do a Registry clean? Also do you know where the rescue copy is kept on your computer, XP Home SP2?
     
  11. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I don't know much about FDISR Rescue, I still use FDISR Workstation v3.21 build 205, probably for the next 5 years, maybe longer.
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    There is no "file extension" Be careful with registry cleaners, they can cause FDISR problems.

    Pete
     
  13. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,632
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Argggg! :mad:

    You have to remind us again? RAXCO could have done much better for themselves IMO if they weren't so hasty in parting with FD-ISR. But no sense rehashing the past, softwares, even the VERY BEST come and go, and unfortunately this one was way too good.
     
  14. GarySugar

    GarySugar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Posts:
    21
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.