First Time I Tried

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by biddy79uk, Jun 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. biddy79uk

    biddy79uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    ok here goes nothing,
    i wanted to create a back up of my full C:\Drive,
    i was recomended Acronis true image home 10 and given a link....(torrent)
    i used this part:
    http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w136/biddy79uk/ACRONIS.jpg
    I followed the wizard and all went well,and the back up was created and placed on my D:\Drive.
    now just out of curiosity i tried it out to see if IT or I done it propperly,
    and this is what i done:
    i clicked on this recovery part shown
    http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w136/biddy79uk/2007-05-31_061731.png
    and followed the wizard,after it finished its job i had to reboot and when it come back on it worked and the back up was recovered....thank god::D
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2007
  2. biddy79uk

    biddy79uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    now the whole point in making a back up is incase your O/S fails,
    so i was told to use acronis director suite,
    and after downloading that aswel this is what i done
    i clicked on here shown:
    http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w136/biddy79uk/boot.png
    which i have done and followed the wizard again and now i have it on disk:
    but my MAIN QUESTION is i dont have an external hard drive to place my back up on to...so how and what do i do to get it onto a DVD?
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2007
  3. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Is your D drive a separate physical drive or a partition on the main system drive?
    You have to burn your image to DVD but to do so, you have to make the backup in small enough splits that will fit on the DVD. Many here use 1492mb splits and three of these will fit on one dvd with little waste.
     
  4. biddy79uk

    biddy79uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    DwnNdrty i notice you have answered to both my posts so shall we just stick here instead of going back and forth:
    to answer your question my D:\Drive is just a partition,
    so if my O/S fails to boot i cant and wouldnt be able to access the bac up on the D:\Drive mate.:D
     
  5. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    If you use a BartPE cd or a live Linux cd and boot with either one, you will be able to access the files on your C or D partitions.
     
  6. biddy79uk

    biddy79uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    so is their really no way to get the back up file onto one DvD Disk?
    i really wish their was a step by step guide on making back ups with acronis,
    also a guide on how to add your back up file to DvD,:rolleyes:
    here's the image i was left with after i made my back up:
    http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w136/biddy79uk/image.png
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2007
  7. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Definitely recommend that you get an external drive for storage of Acronis Backup Archives. While storage on DVD is better than nothing, an external drive is much better. If one of the DVD or files on the DVD is spoiled or scratched, your entire backup (on DVD) is useless. Also, should your drive fail, you really should have a backup of the entire drive (both C & D) for a more trouble-free drive replacement.

    Whether your backup will fit on one DVD will depend upon how much data you have. Take your existing hard drive space used and multiply by 60%. That will be the approximate size of your tib archive file.

    To split the backup file during creation, you will need to use the "archive splitting" option. This allows you to control the size of the backup files. There is no "hard & fast" rule but one often used is to enter 1492MB into the archive split window. This is illustrated via image B7 & B8 of my Beginner's Guides. Listed below is my guides for backup & recovery. You should find some assistance there.

    Once you the backup has been completed and validated, you can browse to the folder on drive D containing your backup archives. Then copy/burn the *.tib files from your folder on Drive D onto blank DVD. Three files will fit on one DVD so you may need more than one DVD. Once the copy to DVD procedure is complete, then boot into the Recovery CD and validate the backup stored on DVD media.

    You can try copying your existing 4.56G file but I believe it will be too big to fit on one when file overhead is considered. When attempting this burn, look at the projected number of disc. Ok to burn if one blank needed, Do not burn if two blanks needed.
     
  8. biddy79uk

    biddy79uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    OK then if i were to put my back up onto an external hard drive,
    when i load the recovery boot disk will it for instance
    ask me to point it to what file i want to back up......
    or should i say after i boot from the recovery disk shall i just click on the image i saved...{the back-up}
    and will it revert my computer back to the way it was when i created the back up!!!!!!!!-S.O.S for sounding STUPID :D
     
  9. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Please read my restore guide again.
    1. Boot from the Rescue Cd.
    2. Browse to the Backup .tib files
    3. Point TI to where the files are being restored and type of restore.
    4. Try simulating your process as illustrated by the guides.
     
  10. biddy79uk

    biddy79uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    i have transfered my back up file onto my dads external hard drive,
    i just now need to know if i have to use a CD or a DVD
    to create the bootable rescue media disk,:p
     
  11. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    A CD will be just fine.
     
  12. biddy79uk

    biddy79uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    problem is tom...... i only have DVD+R
     
  13. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Well try it and report back. You can also create a .ISO file and burn that as an image to DVD.
     
  14. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    I just burned the rescue CD to a DVD+RW and it worked fine. I'm uisng V9 B3677.
     
  15. biddy79uk

    biddy79uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    well tom this is the 2nd time i've tried to make this bootable rescue media
    and failed,
    both times ive used the writer to burn straight to disk,so i think i'll give it one more go but use the ISO,
    the ISO has worked and sitting on my D:\Drive where i saved it,
    my Question is do i have to burn it with a CD or can i use a DVD+R
     
  16. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Yes you can use DVD+R as I mentioned in my earlier post. Use Nero or other sw of your choice and choose the option to burn an image file.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.