First ever antivirus in Browser: Epic Browser

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by sg09, Jul 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    What do you mean?You can't sign in to your account or what?WOT is installed by default,right?No problems here.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    Ireland
    Deselecting the Menu Bar doesn't hide it. It gets bigger. :thumbd:
    The Navigation Bar can't be made smaller, even when using small icons. :thumbd:
    The Sidebar can't be (auto-)hidden or moved. :thumbd:

    While a lot of functions are just built-in extensions, there are nice things like the removal of the titlebar.
     
  3. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    True.Let's just hope these are small bugs and will be fixed soon.Not so annoying for me though.
     
  4. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Its OK now. I was getting WOT "activating now" for long...:)
     
  5. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Glad to hear.Btw,nice find!!:thumb:
    PS:I'm starting to click more often on Epic's icon than Firefox....:D
     
  6. cruxx

    cruxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    . .
    Interesting find. It loaded my custom firefox toolbars and icons as well as faves.
    http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/3508/snapc.jpg
    Nice that you can add custom themes top and bottom from your own images. Speed seems ok, memory usage comparable to firefox for me. Not tried the Av function yet but will shortly.
    :D
     
  7. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Lol.. look at my Avatar...:D :argh:
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    nice avatar;)
     
  9. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    Its basically firefox with added bells and whistles.I must say i quite like the layout of it .Anyone know how to get roboform plugin to work with it?.It should be possible as it is firefox in disguise.
    ellison
     
  10. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,995
    So does anyone have more info on the Eset component? Does this browser have an http scanner powered by Eset or is it just the on demand scanner?
     
  11. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    It is a solid browser. I changed the sidebar to display text only, added a firefox persona from www.getpersonas.com

    Eset component when you're performing a full scan, downloads 25mb in definitions, which is faster than your standard online scan.

    For example, if I were to use Mamutu as my only real-time protection, back-up scans with hitman pro and downloads being checked by WOT in Epic browser and scanned by eset (along with a weekly scan), not bad I'd say for minimal disruption. :)

    For a first release, great program. As others said, if quarantine folder can be located, menus re-arranged more easily, iron out some bugs, could see this really taking off.

    I'll test out the virus scanning this week in shadow mode. From what their website states, all saved downloads are automatically scanned by eset. I wouldn't say it's a http scanner going by the speed each page loads, just downloads only. WOT is to fill in where HTTP scanning normally occurs on another's system. Full system scans by ESET obviously performed manually by the user.

    And for privacy, flash cookies are also deleted and can be set to always start in private browsing mode.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2010
  12. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,995
    So is this a cloud scanner from Eset scanning downloads?
     
  13. squid13

    squid13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Cantonment, FL
    I've been using it for awhile and everything is going OK so far. I was able to load my extensions with no problems. It will not keep my bookmark tool bar. In view I'll check for it to show and if I shut down and start up later my bookmark tool bar is gone. I'll have to recheck it again to see it, it will not hold the setting, and only shows icons but no text. I wish there was a way to hide the sidebar. I added a restart button but I notice there is no button to return to your home page.
     
  14. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    I found a Eset realated folder at
    C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\Epic\Epic\Profiles\hnwkshx9.default\ESETModules
    I doubt if the quarantine is also there.
     
  15. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    I didn't figure it out if or how Key Scrambler works with Epic.Any thoughts?
     
  16. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,292
    Location:
    USA,IA
    so i see good and bad post about it. is it even worth it ? i dont know lol
     
  17. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    I swear someone, somewhere said KeyScrambler didn't work with Epic, though I'm not sure how, seeing as it is merely a tweaked Firefox. On that note, I just don't see much point in this particular one. Every AV scans downloads, whether automatically or manually, the idea is nice, but it really just bloats the browser, along with the other "fluff" they stuck in there. It likely isn't a "bad" browser, but it does seem to be very niche. I wish them luck, I just have plenty of other choices without all the added things included.
     
  18. bsodcsi

    bsodcsi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Posts:
    26
    The Quarantine folder is located here as per Epics site:
    Where can I find the Antivirus Quarantine folder?
    The "ESETQuarantine" folder is created only if a virus or a malicious program has been detected by the Antivirus scanner. The folder can be found in user's system. And the path will be
    Application Data\Epic\Epic\Profiles\\ for Windows XP
    Application Data\Roaming\Epic\Epic\Profiles\\ for Windows Vista and Windows 7
     
  19. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Yesyerday I tested it with a set of malwares. It detected them like Eset Online scanner. I guess they are using the online scanner engine...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.