[Firmware] Optiarc dvd rw ad-7560a

Discussion in 'hardware' started by m00nbl00d, May 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    :argh:

    To my sadness, moments ago I noticed that a laptop's (acer aspire 5220) DVD drive was not being recognized. It's not present in Device Manager nor BIOS.

    There's been a long time since I last needed to use the DVD drive, so I'm not sure for how long it has been lasting.

    I do remember that like a month or so ago, I recorded a DVD to a relative.

    The DVD drive is an Optiarc DVD RW AD-7560A. I'm trying to find firmware updates, but I can't find this model here https://www.sony-optiarc.eu/search.html o_O

    Tomorrow, I'll contact with Acer and see if they can assist me finding it... or whatever they may help me with.

    I'm hoping it's just a firmware issue.

    But, in the meantime, if anyone is aware of some legitimate place where I could get the latest firmware update, I'd be thankful.

    Thanks

    -edit-

    I did notice for sometime an Unknown Device, but no driver update is ever found and I got no idea of what it may be... Any tips? Thanks
     
  2. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    sounds like it may be the old upper and lower filters issue if not a bad drive so 2 things to try are these:

    http://support.microsoft.com/mats/cd_dvd_drive_problems/en-us

    second you may need to delete upper and or lower filters:

    Follow these steps

    Click on Start
    Click on Run
    Type in REGEDIT
    Click on OK
    Click on the plus sign (+) next to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
    Click on the plus sign (+) next to SYSTEM
    Click on the plus sign (+) next to CurrentControlSet
    Click on the plus sign (+) next to Control
    Click on the plus sign (+) next to Class
    Click on the plus sign (+) next to {4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFG1-08002BE10318}
    On the right pane, click to highlight Upperfilters
    Right click on Upperfilters
    Click on Delete
    Click on OK
    On the right pane, click to highlight Lowerfilters
    Right click on Lowerfilters
    Click on Delete
    Click on OK
    Close the Registry Editor
    Reboot the computer

    not sure what firmware you have but here is one:

    http://www.easy-share.com/1903432194/OPTIARC-AD-7560A-DX14.zip

    there are other firmwares also but i know the above works with acer. in ther words asus has one sony has one etc but when you try to flash them it will tell you its not the same drive unless you use a hex editor and edit the firmware to match the one you have which is pretty easy to do if you know how other wise dont touch it with a hex editor
     
  3. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I thought it could be something related to what you mentioned (UpperFilters and LowerFilters), but there are no such keys.

    That leaves me with a firmware issue... or, sadly, a broken dvd player/recorder. It couldn't have happened at the worst moment. :ouch:

    I'll look into it.


    Thanks
     
  4. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I'm wondering if the Windows 7 SP1 upgrade I did a couple weeks ago could be the culprit?

    It did cause a problem with my Internet connection device. I had uninstall stuff and reinstall, and eventually got it to work again.

    Relatives also reported issues with their Internet connection devices (USB 3G), like not recognizing them at first, not being able to safely remove them.

    One more bites the dust, I guess...
     
  5. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Reinstall system drivers if you can. If the drive at least initializes (i.e. the drive's light is ON during cold boot of the system or you hear some noise coming from it if you listen closely, or the tray opens when you press the button), then it may not be a serious issue.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.