firewalls that block ads / banners

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by acr1965, May 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    There are some older posts about this topic but I am wondering which firewalls currently will block ads and banners. Kaspersky ISS firewalls does it and apparently so does Outpost Pro (but my Windows 7 had issues with it). Are there other firewalls that will block ads and automatically keep the ad blocking up to date? I think Online Armor blocks ads but needs manually updated, is this correct?

    thanks
     
  2. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    OA blocks activeX banners/ads only.
     
  3. NoIos

    NoIos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    607
    OA paid auto updates its rules but kjdemuth is right about the ads blocked by OA.
     
  4. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Sunbelts VIPRE Premium has that option with the built in firewall as well.
     
  5. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Yes, it's the Kerio firewall Sunbelt bought and rebranded. It does have full ad blocking in the trial/paid version.
     
  6. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Well I was gonna give it a try but the sunbelt site says a windows 7 release is not yet available. Actually wanted to see what the release status was but it looks like the sunbelt forum is down.

    http://supportforums.sunbeltsoftware.com/
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2010
  7. cp4eva

    cp4eva Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    TX
    Didn't Outpost used to have a banner blocker? I thought it used to in previous versions - no clue now, though.
     
  8. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    get firefox with adblock plus and noscript and all will be fine.
    its faster and more adjustable than the mentioned options.
     
  9. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416
    IF you are using firefox, adblock plus is above anything else.

    But if you are using various browsers, I think it is better to rely on hosts file or admuncher if you don't mind paying.
     
  10. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    i use proxomitron for this and other misc purposes/needs.
    ad muncher - from time to time there are free licenses for certain countries.
     
  11. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Only the pro version.
     
  12. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    outpost paid version got webcontrol option which is needed to set it blocks all ads and banner also you can you firefox extension adblock plus
     
  13. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    My computer had some big problems with Outpost Pro. I have an admuncher license but it chokes when I open several tabs at once, which I need to do fairly often.
     
  14. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
  15. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    www.untangle.com
    Done at the router...hardware....protecting the entire network. No software installed on clients. Also does other UTM features... antivirus scanning, spam removal, etc.
     
  16. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    Chrome now has AdBlock plus.
    Chrome Plus also has the same and is installed by default. But without Google's privacy issues.
     
  17. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Right now I just have a single desktop, no server, and running Windows 7 Ultimate. I read the quick start guide and it said the program works on Vista. It looks very nice, just that it may be a little more than I need for now. Thanks.
     
  18. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Not yet. We had a falling out not long ago and I have not installed admuncher on windows 7 yet. Maybe I'll head over to their site and make a post. I'd rather block ads with my firewall.
     
  19. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I have FF with ab+ installed. It's does ok- just FF seems slower than death compared to Chrome.
     
  20. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I may give Chromeplus another look. I seemed a little fishy when it first came out but I have not heard any negative comments about it.
     
  21. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416
    Try to load the same page with adblock on and then with adblock disabled. If there is a difference then its adblock's fault, but I don't think so. Fasterfox lite is an extension that includes a page load timer in milliseconds. I have not notice any slower page load with adblock plus enabled, the contrary I would say.
     
  22. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Thanks for the comment- what I meant was even if FF loads pages slower than death compared to Chrome, whether ab+ is used or not.
     
  23. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    Depends - on your system - on other extensions - on plugins...
    chrome has just started for some...
     
  24. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    looks like AM is working better than previously on opening multiple tabs at once (at least better on win 7 than vista). so maybe I'll stick with it for a bit and see what happens
     
  25. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416
    Admuncher is a very cool little program but I find the price high for a year, and not able to use it at two PCs.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.