Firewall

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by poepoe2797, Dec 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. poepoe2797

    poepoe2797 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    What is the best firewall to use with NOD32v3? I'm looking for the "NOD32" of firewalls, very good, very light, and compatible with the NOD32v3 proxy.
     
  2. Hangetsu

    Hangetsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    259
    In this forum, you'll probably hear "Get ESET Smart Security", their suite which includes a firewall :D

    If your PC is local and sits behind a hardware router/firewall all day, you can probably use the Windows Firewall if you are safe and comfortable without having reports of apps that want to connect. Very fast however.

    If you're looking for a 3rd party firewall because you don't sit behind a router (or connect to public networks regularly), there's folks here that can recommend one better than I.

    Good luck!
     
  3. swami

    swami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Posts:
    167
    Try Soft4Ever Look'n'Stop out.
     
  4. tiinkka

    tiinkka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    24
    If you want free and simple go for Kerio or Online Armour , If you want free and complex go Comodo 3 and if money is no object go Outpost Pro.

    Online Armor isnt Vista compatible.

    Good Luck
     
  5. ankupan

    ankupan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    436
    Hi,

    I am using EAV 3 with LooknStop and both are working great too.
     
  6. daveiw

    daveiw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    UK
    Personally Outpost Firewall 4 and Nod 2.7 or Nod 3 work perfectly. I use AVG Antispyware too for those rare naties which nod may miss.

    Last time I checked Outpost 6 wasn't so friendly with Nod though, hence my use of the perfectly formed Outpost 4, newer isn't always better.
     
  7. NodboN

    NodboN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Posts:
    139
    ZoneAlarm Pro 7.0.462.000 rocks for me.
     
  8. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec

    :doubt: didnt rock for me, i got a "True Vector is shutting down" box on every reboot. Same as last 3 versions. Dont know why though. Shame coz its good and has antispy to.
     
  9. NodboN

    NodboN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Posts:
    139
    NOD32 V3 is not the culprit that's causing your ZoneAlarm Pro 7.0.462.000 'True Vector is shutting down' error. This error has been reported in the ZoneLabs Forum l..o..n..g before the V3 release - no wonder this combo didn't rock for you (you'll need to get your firewall in order.)
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2007
  10. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Hi NodboN,
    I searched the forum but couldnt find the definite cause of this issue. It was supposedly fixed in the latest version but obviously not.
    By the way i wasnt blaming NOD for ZAPs instabilities. Last 3 versions i meant ZAP !!!
    I have a router anyway so im not really stressed.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2007
  11. poepoe2797

    poepoe2797 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Well I tried to install Look 'n' Stop, but it won't work on 64-bit Vista :( Any other good ones?
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes it does and very well if you have some sort of problem just go over to the Look'n'Stop forum!

    Make sure you download this version http://looknstop.soft4ever.com/Beta/2.06p2/LooknStop_Setup_206p2_x64_VC2005.exe

    Or if you don't want the Beta Version download this one http://looknstop.soft4ever.com/Beta/2.06p1/LooknStop_Setup_206p1_x64.exe

    And make sure you read the part about installing the "Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 SP1 Redistributable" package (x64) available here:
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...DisplayLang=en
    otherwise you will probably encounter some "side by side" errors when starting the setup.
     
  13. meschubert

    meschubert Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    Manhattan Beach, CA
    Comodo seems popular with a lot of people. The newest version of Outpost seems to "play better with others" too.

    I tried LooknStop a few months ago, but found it more work than it was worth. I would have probably stuck with it anyway, but it also faired poorly in Leak Tests.
     
  14. capatt

    capatt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Posts:
    84
    Online Armor.

    Very, very easy. Virtually no configuration out of the box. Very light on resources. Great HIPS.

    The FREE version beats all known leak tests. Some think this isn't important, but I disagree.
     
  15. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Stick with Eset and use their ESS instead of their EAV.
    I prefer being behind a NAT router first and foremost though.
    If you want 3rd party software firewall...Comodo.
     
  16. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Yeah me to ;)
     
  17. poepoe2797

    poepoe2797 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Well, I am behind a router but I need something for application control mostly. I tried out LNS but to be honest, I wasn't really impressed. There were a couple stupid things I didn't like about the GUI, particularly the way the app filtering windows would always pop up in the corner of the screen instead of the center, and the general GUI seems a little old school and not too refined. For some reason, I get the impression that it seems like an abandoned or very slow moving project. Even though it may be a very good firewall, it doesn't perform well with UI aspect. I will be purchasing (hopefully) ESS after my NOD32 lic expires in Nov 08, but I need something to last me till then.
     
  18. swami

    swami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Posts:
    167
    Well, if it's all about the GUI for you. For me it's how good the actual firewall is. I think l'n'S is one of the best firewalls out there.
     
  19. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Comodo has one BIG flaw at present, it allows all programs on its "trusted" list to access the net, Thats not great if you want some of those apps to be blocked from internet access from the off !!!! :eek:

    And if your behind a router you need a degree in engineering to get Look n Stop to work !!

    So whats best for those who just want to block apps from ever connecting to the net ?

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2008
  20. Eclipse99fwb

    Eclipse99fwb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    Lakewood, CO
    Outpost Firewall Pro, does work with NOD32 3.0 and 2.7, some people have had problems, but I have alot of clients running this combination with no issues. I'm running this same combo right now, even using the .2168 version (that was having alot of bugs) and have no issues. Just wanted to let everyone know, that you may or may not be able to run it. I do agree though that Outpost 4 is good.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.