Firewall works only after stopping and starting filtering mode.

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v4 Beta Forum' started by eisefr, Jan 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany
    I dont know why.. but I keep getting problems with the firewall.
    Its really a BIG pain.

    I start the computer and can access every site.. for a while at least.
    Then suddenly sites where I was ON .. and I click a link there.. or just F5 for refreshing the site.. I get a error message 'Page cannot displayed'

    It happens on certain sites.. this one including!
    No specific time.. but pretty fast after rebooting. Maybe 5-10 Minutes.

    Then I disable the filtering mode.. so all traffic is allowed, I refresh the site what didnt work before.. then everything is fine.

    Same with thunderbird 2.0 or with my Boinc-Client.

    I did a complete deinstallation.
    I deleted every folder on C what was from eset.
    I deleted every registry key from eset what was left after a regstry clean.

    THEN i installed the whole suite again.. And I had the same problem from above after 5 minutes again.

    Its really impossible to work like that.

    Since I have a hardware firewall.. I disabled the eset firewall for now.
    Cause its not working correctly at all.

    My system:
    Windows XP - German - Pro - SP3 and totally up2date (All updates are made)
    3 GB memory. Harddrive.. lots of space left.


    I dont know what to do then waiting for a new beta where this problem doesnt exist anymore.

    Maybe someone else had the same problem and knows a trick how to get the firewall to work?

    Still in hope.
    Frank
    :)
     
  2. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany
    I installed V3 again.
    Works perfect.

    In V4 firewall definetly doesnt work correct on my pc.
     
  3. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany
    No feedback .. ?

    Is this a knows issue?

    Maybe someone from beta-team knows about this already?
     
  4. dozgod

    dozgod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Firewall doesn't allow connections for me either after it updates first time does it need certain services enabled cause I have a lot disabled. It doesn't even work with none of it's services started, I have to uninstall it and reboot to get connections again.
     
  5. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany
    There is only one eset service what's running. (Eset service)
    a second eset service (Eset http server) doesnt need to run I think.

    What other services do you have what are not running ?
    I think they are not from Eset ?
     
  6. Jenee

    Jenee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    185
    I think there may be a bug in the beta version in that it spasmodically blocks the internet connection. I have it happen very frequently on all PCs in my network. It normally only lasts less than 5 minutes and can be a bit annoying. When it does happen, I can still access other PCs in the network but cannot access the internet or the modem/router.
     
  7. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.