Firewall with Profiles and Per Session Permissions

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by egg, Dec 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. egg

egg Registered Member

This is my first time in looking for a firewall, so I apologize if these are basic questions/scenarios, I looked at the FAQ and it looks like mostly for configuring a rather static set of rules. Previously I have just depended on AntiVirus, AntiSpy and a hardware firewall, but I just got a new laptop and have needed to use it in public wi-fi situations, so I wanted to get something more secure than the firewall that comes with Windows. The trouble is that I use my laptop in different environments that require different firewall settings, here are some examples of profiles:
    * Public Wireless: Super Paranoid
    * Customer Network: Many outgoing ports and tools allowed
    * Private Network: Many outgoing ports and tools allowed and some incoming (usually a friend/family network)
    * Home: Many Outgoing and Incoming ports and tools allowed (ability to share and develop using the home machine)

I need the ability to run a VPN (both Cisco and MS) with the firewall running.

Also I may have multiple connections at the same time that require different settings (for instance a Public Wireless connected to a Customer VPN), the VPN needs to have permissions opened up while the Public Wireless should still be basically locked down.

Finally I would like the ability to add certain rules for a particular connection FOR THAT SESSION ONLY, after that I want it to revert automatically. For instance I may need to allow access for a customer to my MSSQL DB (port 1433), but I want it to default to being off the next time I use that profile, I will turn it on only when it is needed.