Firewall with advertising blocker

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by MrGSM, Mar 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MrGSM

    MrGSM Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Morocco
    Hi every one.
    What are the firewalls that contain advertising blocker?
    and the best of them? of course i want a low usage in CPU & Memory...
    Thanks
     
  2. gud4u

    gud4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    206
    I'd choose a firewall based on it's performance as a firewall - and look to other tools for best adware-blocking.

    Two good performers:
    - FireFox browser with Adblock Plus plug-in.
    - The MVPS Host File (basically, a firewall plug-in) works very well with my OA firewall.

    Hope this helps!
     
  3. yashau

    yashau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Posts:
    151
    I'm pretty sure ZoneAlarm has got one.

    I use Privoxy myself tho.
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    sunbelt has one too and a good one;)
     
  5. yashau

    yashau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Posts:
    151
    Yeah but no x64 support with Sunbelt..yet. Not that it matters to most people tho.
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    ah,i see:cool:
     
  7. henryg

    henryg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    293
    The two mentioned above and Agnitum's Outpost Firewall will also do the job.
     
  8. thathagat

    thathagat Guest

    well....
    1.Outpost
    2.ZA pro
    but the best ad blocker is admuncher though ...a standalone product.
     
  9. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Kaspersky Internet Security also has a banner blocker.
     
  10. Dark_Hanzo

    Dark_Hanzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Canada
    Last time I used kis it was disabled by default for a reason I don't remember o_O
     
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    the best we can do to block adds it is mvps host file;)
     
  12. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Philippines
    I favor Outpost Security Suite Pro (or Outpost Firewall Pro). I does a decent job of filtering out ads.
     
  13. suliman

    suliman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    53
    No need limit your choices of firewalls by their ability to block ads.
    You can add ad-servers to your hosts file and it is browser independent.
    I use Hostsman to manage my hosts file whenever I use Windows. In Linux I just ad the servers to the hosts file.
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i use mvps host file and opendns;)plus SpyWare Blaster Inmunitation:)
     
  15. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    It is still disabled by default. But you can always enable it when you want.
    Don't know why they would want to hide a feature. Business complications, I guess.;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.