firewall that resolves IP addresses?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by acr1965, Jan 15, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Is there a firewall (either stand alone or in a suite) that resolves IP addresses so, for instance, instead of an outgoing IP address the attempt shows adware.com ?
     
  2. java dude

    java dude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Posts:
    75
    Online Armor is able to resolve IPs.
     
  3. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    are any of the older, free versions of online armor still available? I don't need the HIPS component, so I can't really justify dropping $40 for a 1 year subscription
     
  4. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Sunbelt firewall free can resolve IPs. It's a toggle. If you have XP you can use it.
     
  5. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Online Armour free is still available.
    When you install, just decline the full version trial and you'll get the free limited mode.
     
  6. noone_particular

    noone_particular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3,798
    On XP and earlier systems, Kerio 2.1.5 can resolve IP addresses. User selectable option for the alerts and the status screen.
     
  7. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    thanks for the suggestions, I should have stated I have Windows 7, 32 bit....did not know there was still a freeware version of OA so thanks for that info too as I'll try it out this weekend
     
  8. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Look N Stop has a plugin that allows that.
     
  9. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    In ESET Smart Security, the option to resolve IP addresses is toggled under Advanced Setup|Network|Connection view|Resolve host names.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  10. CGuard

    CGuard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Posts:
    145
    Net-Peeker does that + it uses WHOIS Service to display more info.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.