Firewall tests

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by ASpace, Apr 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hello !

    I decided to test ESS .

    I removed temporary my router and via dial-up connection tested the firewall's reliablity.The results are excellent

    Have done all the tests on HackerWatch.org and PCflank.com such as direct atack,port scan,common ports scan,stealth test

    All tests showed : All ports Secure/Stealth

    Good job , ESET ! :thumb:


    P.S. I submitted two bugs via the internal option (Help->Contact the TechSupport) about the firewall not remembering the trusted zone settings.Hope you received it. Really like the Automatic mode :)
     
  2. fredra

    fredra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Posts:
    366
  3. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Thanks , saw it.:thumb:
     
  4. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O

    Confrim.
    Passed these tests as well
     
  5. Rambo

    Rambo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Budapest. HUNGARY
    Hello Everybody!

    During the test, I noticed this:

    - In the setup, under the "Web access protection - HTTP - Blocked Adresses" menupoint when I add "*.hu", seemingly the firewall doesn't filter the .hu domains

    - In the setup, under the "Web access protection - HTTP - Blocked Adresses" menupoint when I add example "origo.hu", the firewall filters correctly the "http://www.origo.hu"", but doesn't filter "http://www.origo.hu/index.html" URL, I think this is a mistake. The firewall have to parsing the URLs, not only a simple compare with the exlude pattern and the ending characters of the actual URL address.

    - In the setup, under the "Personal Firewall - Rules and zones - Rules" menupoint the EDIT and DELETE button seemingly dosn't work. I guess, the DELETE function should ask an "Are you sure" like question in the future. It would be a great idea, that man could export, import, enrich this rules via TEXT files. When I made a precious rules list, it would be able to transport easier to other machines.
     
  6. Skriatok

    Skriatok Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Hi

    - I must enter "*origo.hu*" or "origo.hu*" no only "origo.hu" .
    - If you export settings in menu, you export rules/zones too.
     
  7. rogervernon

    rogervernon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    289
    The firewall fails GRC Leak Test. No pop up is shown asking for permission to connect.This is in interactive mode.
     
  8. Melchi501

    Melchi501 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    90
    Don't confirm. Its works for me. Windows XP sp2.
     
  9. JeremyWW

    JeremyWW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    GRC Leaktest works perfectly in Interactive mode - one of the first things I tried.
     
  10. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    What are your experiences with the leaktests?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.