Firewall test at ShieldsUP!

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by Clweb, Jul 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Clweb

    Clweb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    France
    Hi,
    I made a test at GRC and noticed a strange behaviour.
    Testing the common ports, I had a pop-up at port 445.
    Of course I'll deny, but if I wait the end of the test to click "Deny", the test passes with all ports Stealth.
    If I click "Deny" as it appears, the tests fails because port 445 is not stealth, but only closed.
    Not a big security issue, but many poeple like to be stealth.
    PS: of course my PC is in DMZ, so I test the PC not the router.
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I have tested ESS's firewall with these tests only in Automatic mode and it passes OK with everything stealth . I will try it in Interactive Mode in a few hours and will post if it happens here ;)
     
  3. Clweb

    Clweb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    France
    Am I the only one with that problem ?
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I am sorry , I forgot to test when I had the chance to sit at my test computer , these days I was unable due to a lot of work . I promise I'll try it as soon as I have time and will report back here.

    Not sure if other people have such an issue
     
  5. Clweb

    Clweb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    France
    I tried it wit Beta2 and it is the same unless I create a spécific rule for port 445.
    But wose than with Beta1b, now the port 135 is OPEN :mad:
    Impossibkle to close or make stealth with a rule.
    OK I use now the firewall of my router and there are no problems.
     
  6. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I had no problem with both Automatic and Interactive mode
     
  7. BarneyBadass

    BarneyBadass Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    are you guys behind a router that could be mis-reporting?
     
  8. Clweb

    Clweb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    France
    I'm behind a router. To test ESS firewall, I put the PC in the DMZ. Than port 135 is open. With DMZ deactivated, all ports are closed.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.