Firewall rules

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by RJurjevic, Oct 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RJurjevic

    RJurjevic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    UK
    If a computer is used by two users at the same time (users are logged in switching between the two) and if both users say run an instance of the same application which has to be allowed a network traffic (by creating a rule in Interactive mode), and if both users did create the rule, will I see in the rule list the rule listed twice as there is a duplicate (and if I delete the duplicate one of the users will have to allow the traffic for the application once again)? Thanks.
     
  2. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Just to check, you are talking about using Fast User Switching under Microsoft Windows XP, correct?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  3. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    RJ..., is the Quote above the Duplicate you're speaking of from your earlier post? In the Rules List there are Two Different entries in the Application Column for Allow DHCP , so Allow DHCP (2) wouldn't appear to be a Duplicate - unless Aryeh knows different.

    If your question is NOT about DHCP, sorry for the intrusion.
     
  4. RJurjevic

    RJurjevic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    UK
    Yes I am talking about Fast User Switching.

    I see, I thought everything with "(2)" at the end in the name is a duplicate. Thanks for pointing this out.

    Anyway, it is not a big deal, I won't delete any rules with "(2)" at the end in the name and I should be fine.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.